“By the Power Invested in Me”

By the Power Invested in Me

Most of us have heard or witnessed at one time or the other the life-changing words, “By the power invested in me by the state of (so-and-so), I now pronounce you husband and wife.”   Throughout the history of mankind, those who have officiated legal and binding matters are empowered to do so by various licensing boards that give official permission to a person to legally own something, bind something, or to do something.

In like matter, as a born-again Christian, have you ever fully recognized and accepted the “Power Invested” in you by the Blood of Jesus Christ at the Cross of Calvary?  The Cross at Calvary is the most powerful life-giving and life-sustaining licensing board known to mankind.  By the Power invested in me through the shed Blood of Jesus Christ at the Cross of Calvary, I have been pronounced and empowered to overcome the world because, “Greater is He who is in me than he who is in the world.” (I John 4:4)  By the Power invested in me through the Blood of Jesus Christ at the Cross of Calvary I have been pronounced and empowered to forgive and show forth mercy to all those who have transgressed and trespassed against me. (Matthew 6:14)  By the Power invested in me through the Blood of Jesus Christ at the Cross of Calvary I have been pronounced and empowered to love my enemies and to love my neighbor as myself. (Matthew 5:44; Matthew 22:39) Oh, the power of the blood of Christ that allows me to be pronounced and empowered to obey the Lord’s commands!

Oh, my friend, the Biblical and Spiritual things that we have been empowered to do through the Blood of Jesus at the Cross of Calvary are eternally limitless. There is no greater power than the power to overcome death and the grave. (Matthew 28:18). And, as a Christian I have been given the power over death through my Savior, Jesus Christ through the authority of God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Ghost.  There is no greater licensing board in the universe and beyond than that of, God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Ghost.  The Bible teaches me that we are, “more than conquerors through Him that loved us and empowered us in His name.”  (Romans 8:31-39)

Jesus’ blood was pure and perfect blood without blemish; the only blood that could or ever can set man free from sin; and the wages of sin which is death. (Romans 6:23) Jesus’ blood empowers me to overcome sin and the wages of sin in my own life.  Through the precious, shed blood of Jesus I have been set free; free indeed.  Oh, the power that has been invested in me by the Blood of Jesus Christ at the Cross of Calvary.  As the lyrics found in the old Gospel song, “There is Power, Power; Wonder Working Power in the Precious Blood of the Lamb.” Amen…

Maybe you have stood before a licensing committee, or a licensed minister, judge, justice-of-the peace, or some other certified official. Maybe you have stood before a judge to hear the words, “By the Powers invested in me, I declare you free of debt.”  Either way, there will never be a more powerful, life changing official in your life than our righteous Judge; Jesus Christ empowering you to be born-again, saved, and washed in the Blood of the Lamb.  Today, I ask you this question, Have you ever been empowered through the Blood of Jesus to be pronounced, “Free from the wages of sin; born-again; a Child of God who will one day enter into the glories of Heaven?”  If not, it is my prayer that you will seek Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord and receive God’s ever powerful love, mercy, and forgiveness in your own life. (John 3:16) Amen.

Remember, God Loves You,

Lin T Rollins, M.Ed. Author