Jesus Came to Save that Which Was Lost…

“For the Son of man is come to seek and to save that which was lost.” (Luke 19:10 KJV).

Have you ever lost something of great value? I know I have.

A few years ago I was sitting in my recliner twisting my wedding ring around on my finger when it slipped off and fell between the metal bar and the inside of the chair. The space was way too small to reach my hand down to retrieve it. I turned the chair over on its side and eventually upside down trying to get to my wedged in ring. A full hour went by with my trying unsuccessfully to get my ring.

My husband decided the only way to get the ring was to rip the side of the chair apart thus destroying the chair that matched the rest of the furniture. It was an option, but my last option! My husband went on to bed while I continued reaching from every angle imaginable trying to get my ring. I even took a wire hangar to reach it, but not even that helped. The ring was definitely stuck in a very secure spot. But, it was my wedding ring and I was not about to let it stay in that spot forever.

I began to pray and ask Jesus to please help me get to the ring. Hour upon hour went by without success. It was around 2:00 AM in the morning, and I had been trying to retrieve the ring for four hours, when all of a sudden the ring just turned loose and fell out underneath the chair. It was a miracle because nothing that I had done for the past four hours had helped. I gave ALL the credit to Jesus and thanked Him for retrieving my ring for me.

To be honest, Jesus understands losing something of value then doing what only HE can do to get it back. Man’s fellowship with God was lost in the Garden of Eden. Without the sacrificial death of Jesus Christ on the Cross and His amazing Resurrection that most valued fellowship of all would still be lost. But, Jesus came to seek and to save that which was lost; the souls of man from eternal separation from our Heavenly Father and Creator; God.

Just like the miracle I experienced that night with my ring, Jesus can find the loneliest sinner wedged in the most remote place and return him or her back to the Heavenly Father as pure as snow. My friend, if you or you know someone today that is “lost” and without Jesus as their personal Savior, He is only a prayer away. Won’t you call upon Him today? Remember, He came to seek and to save that which was lost. Amen

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, M.Ed Author

Leave a Reply

