Words of Wisdom to End the Year…

After my morning devotion, I was reflecting upon the advice and wisdom of our elders. When I was around 13 years old I asked my grandmother if she thought I was pretty. She very quickly responded, “Pretty is as pretty does.” She then added, “The Lord sees the heart. You must first be pretty within to be pretty without.” She was absolutely right. A beautiful person can truly mess up their lives with wrong choices and bad behavior.

Another saying of wisdom is, “Waste not and want not.” You don’t see very many people “saving” things these days. Abundance seems to be the norm, so people tend to use what they want and throw the rest away. It wasn’t always like that. My generation was raised by those who had lived through the depression. We were taught to use only what we needed and to take good care of the things we did have.

Other words of wisdom included, “cleanliness is next to godliness,” “a stitch in time saves nine,” “to have friends one must be friendly,” and “he’s (or she’s) so lazy he wouldn’t work in a pie factory tasting pies!” These simple lines of wisdom were once used to guide, shape, and mold a person’s life; and, they worked! I still find myself not taking more paper towels than I need, making sure my house stays clean, fixing something before it gets worse, and Lord knows hearing my mother’s voice inside of my head asking me if I don’t have something to do whenever I’m just doing nothing!

However, these days we’re not suppose to make anyone feel guilty or bad about themselves…Well, how is that working?? We now have a generation that feels entitled and believes anyone interfering with their life choices is mean and holding them back! Sure; we’re trying to hold them back alright…Hold them back from a future of unemployment and poverty, immoral living and self-destruction. Shame, shame on us!

So, fifty years ago should my grandmother had responded, “Oh, yes, Linda, you are beautiful no matter what you do.” No, I’m glad she told me the truth…“The Lord sees the heart. You must first be pretty within to be pretty without.” Thank you, Grandma! You were certainly right!

Remember, God Loves You,

Lin T Rollins, M.Ed, Author

Leave a Reply

