Be Ye Separate…

Wherefore come out from among the world, and be ye separate, saith the Lord, and touch not the unclean thing; and I will receive you. (2 Corinthians 6:17).

I want to thank the wise, faithful, and dedicated Christians who have lived their lives separated from the things of this world.  So many have been such a personal blessing to me and to my family down through the years. Several of these faithful Christians have already made the crossing and are enjoying the majestic splendors of Heaven.  And, many are still living today and boldly serving Christ even as I type this blog.

Nevertheless, sadly, there is a lethal and powerfully seductive spirit that has overcome so many believers who once lived consecrated lives for Christ. In these last days it is very difficult at times to distinguish between Believers (followers) of Christ from the lost and dying world.

Unfortunately, many of today’s preachers, pastors, and Bible teachers possess very little, if any, Biblical standards that hold them to a life of separation. And, what makes it even sadder is that these same non-standard ministers laugh at, mock, and make fun of those Men-of-God who do.

I can plainly recall when my husband entered into the ministry back in 1980 that he made it a point to separate his life for the calling and sake of the ministry.  Many of our friends and family abandoned us as we abandoned the things of this world. It wasn’t that my husband thought he was “better” than others, he just didn’t want “others” to question his call to serve our Lord.  Like the old saying goes, “If he’s a preacher the woods are full of them.” My husband wanted people to see God’s difference upon his life.  And, God did make a difference in my husband’s life.

It breaks my heart into that so many professing Christians are being deceived and being blinded to the things of the world. It takes continued pursuit and the indwelling of self-control and forbearance (Fruit of the Spirit Galatians 5:22) to come out among, separate, and to overcome the world.  Self-control is something that we, as Christians, must pursue daily. I know that I have to pursue this in my own life.

The Bible teaches that no man can serve two masters (Matthew 6:24).  A person will either love one and hate the other or despise one and cling to the other.  Within context, this scripture is referring to the love of money. But, how true can this same principle be applied to our daily living. We will either love the things of the world, or we will love the things of God.

Mind you; I am not perfect. And, I must confess my sins each and every day. I don’t always think the pure thoughts that I should think. And, I don’t always react to situations the way that I should in order to honor Christ. But, when I know that I have sinned, I quickly turn to Christ and ask for His forgiveness that I may not “dwell” in my sin or sinful conduct.  This is not an excuse to “sin.” As Paul states, “God forbid.” But, I’m just saying that when we do sin we can confess that sin and ask God to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. (I John 1:9). As Christians, our goal should always be to “keep the faith,” and “finish the course.”

Sadly, there are so many who “claim” to know Jesus or “claim” to be saved while living lives that are either completely contrary to the teachings of the Word of God or live just enough to keep a “toenail” in God’s ways. For example, the Bible plainly states, “Not forsaking the assembly of ourselves together.” (Hebrews 10:25). YET;  these so-called “Toenail Christians” will put every activity under the sun above attending the House of God, attending a Sunday school class, or a Bible study.  Since they “feel” that they live a “good” life why do they need church in it?  It’s just hard for me to accept someone as being a “follower of Christ” who never seems to be following Him!

The Scripture states, “Come OUT among them and be ye separated.”  But, so often people who claim to be Christians are not only NOT coming out from among them and being separated from the things of this world, but they preferring, supporting, enjoying, and maintaining a close relationship with the things of the world!  As Paul stated, “God forbid.”

Let me ask you this question: How are you living today? Can the world see Jesus in you? Can they see you living a consecrated life unto the Lord even when you do fall, mess up, sin, or make a mistake?  Do they see you quickly repent, ask forgiveness, seek reconciliation, and continue pressing onward? Oh, I pray so.  For in doing so, you are coming “out from among them (the world)!

My friend if you say that you are a Christian, I hope that you will “come out from among the world and be ye separate (not fashioned to) the things of this world… May the God of Peace be with you today.  Amen.

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, M.Ed. Author

One thought on “Be Ye Separate…

  1. Pingback: BE A CHRIST LIKE SERVANT | THE GROWING SEED

Leave a Reply

