Break Away!

Break Away!  I was recently asked why I named my first book, blog site, and weekly newspaper column “Break Away?”  Truthfully, I did not know the answer to that question for many years.

I first began to write the plot to my book, “Break Away,”  in the early 80’s. For decades, I kept the story-line tucked away in my memory. As time allowed, I would pull out the pages, reread what had been written, and add more details, events, and happenings. The dialogue was something that just seemed to flow between the characters as the story developed over time.

It wasn’t until 2010 that the final text was completed and published.  Even though various details changed over the years before the final print, one thing never changed; the book’s title. After the book was published through West Bow Press I set up a blog site with the same title. It was around this time when I felt the Lord speak to my heart that we must all “BREAK AWAY” from our own man-made ideas, plans, philosophies, schedules, and other hindrances that keep us from finding and serving God in all things.

God wants a personal, intimate relationship with His children. He wants to be our number one friend in all things (Proverbs 18:24).  As Believers, God wants us to reach out to Trust Him in all circumstances, matters, and situations within our lives.  The Old Testament book of Isaiah (55:9) teaches us, “As the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways (God’s ways) higher than your ways and my thoughts (God’s thoughts) than your thoughts.”

Until we learn to Break Away  from our own ideologies, thoughts, and ways, we won’t know the full Joy of finding God in every circumstance in our lives; both good or bad.  God is our Supreme authority in all matters of life; things seen and unseen.

Like the Prophet Nehemiah, we, too, can say, “The Joy of the Lord is my strength”(Nehemiah 8:10) when we learn to rely and trust Him in ALL things. Today, if you are struggling to find Joy and Peace in a non-peaceful circumstance or surrounding I encourage you to “Break Away” to Find God in all things…I encourage you to place your whole heart’s trust and assurance in Him…For with God Nothing shall be impossible.  (Luke 1:37). Amen.

Remember, God Loves You

Lin T Rollins, M.Ed Author

Leave a Reply

