Are You Ready? Choose Wisely…

Are You Ready? Choose Wisely…

In one week (today’s date December 26, 2014) we will enter into the New Year 2015. Are you ready? Well; ready or not it’s coming.

If you are like most people you are already deciding what things you want to do differently this coming New Year. You may want to start a new exercise program, a new diet, a new routine, or a complete do-over either on yourself or in your home. Whatever the case may be in six days you can begin!

One of my goals for 2015 is to graciously “let go” of many different things in my life that I cannot change. Change is always good, but when certain things seem to hang around for years and years it is better to practice acceptance with lots of Grace rather than to try unsuccessfully to change them. The Apostle Paul taught in the book of II Corinthians, “And he (Jesus Christ) hath said unto me (the Apostle Paul), My grace is sufficient for thee: for my power is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I (the Apostle Paul) rather glory in my weaknesses, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.” Amen.

Not every circumstance in life renders us weak, but when certain things, situations, and/or circumstances are out of our control we most often do not possess the power to change them. But, God does…And, if HE chooses to change them for His glory He will. But, if He chooses to allow them to remain the same He will, by Faith, provide us with HIS Grace in order to sustain and continue. Either way, God’s Grace is sufficient!

Most things in our life come down to a particular prayer known as the Serenity Prayer, “God, Grant me the Serenity to accept the things I cannot change, courage to change those things I can, and Wisdom to know the difference.” The key component of that prayer is Wisdom to know the difference!

There are things that we can change within our lives, but most of it has to do with our own actions, attitudes, and perspectives. It’s nearly impossible to change the actions, attitudes, and perspectives of others. I know firsthand; so save yourself a whole lot of stress, agony, and energies…Believe me just stop trying! It won’t get you anywhere and the harder you try the worse things can become!

Being a retired school teacher, I know firsthand the blessed opportunity to instill knowledge into the minds and lives of my students. But, how my students chose to live out that knowledge or how they applied that knowledge within their lives was rightfully within their own power. All of life boils now to personal choices. For example, in this life we can choose to forgive those who have trespassed against us, or we can choose to hold grudges until the day they die. It’s our choice. It’s that simple.

God, being the Master Teacher, instills knowledge into the hearts and lives of His children through His precious Word the Bible. Like my students, those who receive God’s Word can choose to accept and practice God’s teachings, or they can choose to ignore His teachings and press onward in life as they choose. Not even God “makes” His children obey…It’s their own choice….It’s your choice….It’s my choice.

So, as the New Year 2015 begins you might want to recall a popular line from the movie, Indian Jones, “Choose wisely.” No matter our choices; all choices have consequences; good or bad. We must all learn to choose more wisely. Our lives and the lives of all those around us depend upon it.

So, today I encourage you to surrender to God’s sufficient Grace in order to accept the things you cannot change and courage to change those things you can. In doing so you are choosing wisely and shall reap rich bountiful Peace.

It is my prayer for 2015 to reap as much Love, Joy, Acceptance, and Peace as I can. In the Name of Jesus Christ, Amen.

Remember, God Loves You.

Lin T Rollins, M.Ed. Author

Leave a Reply

