The “Lifter of My Head”

“But thou, O LORD, art a shield for me; my glory, and the lifter up of mine head.” (Psalm 3:3)

How many times in your life have you needed “someone” to “lift up your head?” Perhaps, your head was heavy and bowed low with sorrows or disappointments. Or, perhaps you had received bad news about a friend or loved one; or even about yourself.

Troubles and sorrows can overtake us in any given moment or situation. But, there is ONE who is the “lifter up” of our heads…Our LORD and Savior, Jesus Christ. As any believer of the Word (Bible) will tell you God doesn’t always deliver us from the many storms and trials in Life, but HE will always be with us to see us through to the other side.

King David said, “Many are the afflictions of the righteous, but the LORD sees us through.” (Psalm 34:19). Today, you may be facing an unprecedented time of trouble in your life. Let me encourage you NOT to despair. The God of Abraham, Isaac, and Jacob who guided the Children of Israel to the Promised Land is the same God, through Jesus Christ, who is leading and guiding His children (those who Believe) today.

God is the same Yesterday, Today, and Forever…I encourage you to let God be your Shield of Faith, your Glory of Hope, and the “Lifter Up” of you head. Then, you, too can say as the Psalmist, “I laid me down and slept; I awaked; for the LORD sustained me…Yes; the LORD sustained me…Salvation belongeth unto the LORD; thy blessing is upon thy people. Selah” (Psalm 3:8).

How sweet to face each day knowing that the LORD is my shield, my glory, and the lifter of my head. Amen

Remember, God LOVES You!
Lin T Rollins, M.Ed. Author

One thought on “The “Lifter of My Head”

  1. My wife and I both love that passage. It is the lyric of a song that has become a favorite of ours as sung a men’s choir named the “Sons of Jubal” with whom I have enjoyed singing for 6+ years. This passage resonates with our lives over the past 9 months as we have walked through much pain and personal loss but spiritual gain. I am just seeing this blog but it was written (appropriately) on my wife’s birthday. Thank you very much for listening to the Spirit and sharing the powerful truths of God’s Word…what an encouragement!
    Also…happy early birthday!! 58 is gonna be great! I, too, am a survivor of a brain aneurysm (Sub arachnoid-communicating anterior artery). God is truly good through it all.

Leave a Reply

