“Chocolate and Tempation!”

“Chocolate and Temptation!”

I have a confession to make…I have a “chocolate” addiction…It’s probably one of the few things I know that I can’t hardly resist…If there is “chocolate” in the house I am going to eat it; and eat all of it until it is entirely gone!

The best way for me to avoid the temptation and desire to eat chocolate is to stay away from it. I have told my husband this for years. Yet, on special occasions such as holidays, anniversaries, birthdays, and occasionally at other unpredicted times he will bring “chocolates” home to me in the form of M & M’s, Whitman Samplers, Kisses, Hershey Bars, and/or other melt-in-your-mouth tantalizing chocolate delights.

When he brings home these tempting seductive mouth-watering treats he tells me, “Don’t eat them all at one time. Just enjoy a few today and save the rest for later.” What he doesn’t seem to understand is that, “I can’t!” If I open the M & M bag I won’t stop until the last piece is gone…When I open the Whitman’s Sampler Box it’s gone in a day and a half…I just don’t have any resistant powers when it come to the delicious taste of chocolate sliding over my lips, across my tongue, and down my throat! I’m the same way with hot chocolate and mocha latte’s…Yum, Yum, Yum…the more chocolate the better!

So, what does “chocolate” and “temptation” have in common? Easy; they are both not good for us in excess of any kind…Some people are as addicted to certain sinful behaviors as I am to chocolate…They just can’t seem to get away from it…The thought of “moderation,” “walking away from,” or “leaving it alone” doesn’t enter into the picture once they start acting upon their sinful impulse or earthly pleasures.

The temptation of “indulgence” can come in many sizes, shapes, fashions, and activities…TV can become an indulgent to some while sports can become an over indulgence to others…Any activity whether it be pleasure, food, or drink can quickly become a tempting indulgent when we cannot control or limit its influence, outcome, or intake into our bodies, mind, and spirit…This is why propaganda such as the advertising media has been so successful since its beginning…It tempts and allures the senses of mankind…

Temptation is the same way…It allures our senses so much so that it’s like a magnet pulling our attentions and desires towards it; often very cleverly with hidden deadly consequences…And, typically while sin is alluring us towards “la-la” land, we very seldom count the cost of its future consequences…Why? Because, we are too busy fulfilling the desires of the flesh at the time to count the cost!

What does the Bible teach us to do about such harmful alluring temptations and sin?” It says this, “Let him eschew evil, and do good; let him seek peace, and ensue it.” (I Peter 3:11 KJV). The word, “eschew” means to stay away from; avoid at all cost, stay clear of, abstain from, distant yourself, and turn your back on…In order words, CHOOSE TO REMOVE YOURSELF FROM THE TEMPTATION! I tell my husband in order for me to remove myself from eating “all” the chocolate in the house in one to two days I must reframe from having chocolate in the house in the first place!

As a Christian, may I suggest that you read I Corinthians 10:13 prayerfully over and over until the Power of the Holy Spirit reveals unto you a way to escape whatever temptation(s) may be in your own life. Also, if you have already tried over and over to “eschew” certain evils and temptations without success I would strongly suggest enlisting the help or assistance of a Pastor, therapist, close friend, or Christian counselor. You may very well need professional assistance; someone who can help to hold you accountable as you steadfastly work together to overcome whatever seductive temptation(s) may be immobilizing your life.

I know that my petty “fetish” with chocolate is not a serious temptation and addiction. Nevertheless, just knowing how tempting a bar of chocolate can be for me to resist, I can truly have sympathy and appreciation in my heart towards those who live more painful addictive lifestyles…

If you do suffer from more serious addictions, please seek help. It is my prayer that 2014 will be the year that you “overcome” any dark and deeply secretive temptations and be “free” from all manners of evil and evil’s presence through the Power of Jesus Christ. The Bible teaches us to, “Submit yourselves therefore unto God. Resist the devil (the author of ALL temptations and addictions), and he will flee from you.” (James 4:7). The Book of Isaiah says, “He (God) giveth power to the faint; and to them that have no might he increaseth strength.” (Isaiah 40:29) Won’t you seek help today and ask Jesus to be your “Deliverer?” Help may only be a phone call away and Jesus is only a Prayer away…We are more than “conquerors” through Him who loves us…Amen…

Remember, God Loves You!
Lin T Rollins, M.Ed. Author

One thought on ““Chocolate and Tempation!”

Leave a Reply

