God’s Will…Really?

God’s Will…Really?

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD. (Isaiah 55:8 KJV)

So often, we say that we desire and want God’s will in our lives, but do we “really” understand what God’s will might be?

Have you ever thought that while we are “seeking” and “searching” for God’s will for our life that we are actually living it moment by moment? Every moment that we, as committed Christian believers, live is NOT living outside of God’s will for our lives…As a matter of fact Jesus prayed, “Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven” (Matthew 6:10). And, if you will recall, that didn’t stop his persecutions, rejections, beatings, or crucifixion…Asking for God’s will in our lives does not “spare” us from the good, bad, or ugly…

Asking for God’s will in our lives is more about surrendering to “FAITH” than getting things our way…As Christians we are taught by Scripture that, Faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not YET seen (Hebrews 11:1)…As Christians we must learn to conduct and discipline our lives as, ”believing that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose” (Romans 8:28). So, finding God’s will for our lives has absolutely nothing to do with getting all of our prayers answered the way we would like or prefer them to be answered…It’s actually about accepting life as it happens as being what God has purposed, planned, and allowed for our lives at the present moment…

Don’t fret or worry. I know how difficult and challenging this can be. I have been living through a particular family situation that has gone on for over ten years without being resolved…As a matter of fact it seemingly continues to decline and grow wearier with each passing day. I have bombarded Heaven day and night with both my prayers and tears without seeing the matter get any better. I have prayed scriptures over the matter. I have sought the prayers of others whom I felt I could confide; and sadly even a few of them betrayed my trust. I have seen 1AM, 2AM, 3AM, and 4AM come and go night after night without one single indication that the situation is getting even close to being resolved…It goes beyond my human reasoning and abilities to understand or comprehend the complexities of it all…God just continues to remain SILENT regarding the matter…And, it doesn’t appear to bother the others involved one tiny bit…So, I continue to live day by day feeling the blunt end of the heavy burden and major disappointments of it all…Time and days that can never be gained back while here on Earth.

So, this year I have resolved myself to finding a place of “Acceptance” regarding the whole thing. A place where I will just PRAISE the LORD anyway no matter the continued dismal outcome…It grieves me to no end knowing that if the matter is not resolved very soon that I will miss out on precious family quality time, happenings, and events…But, what else can I do? Besides sending up my daily prayers I have jumped through every hoop and walked every plank set before me…But, none of my efforts have brought forth restitution or fellowship…As the Bible teaches, I have sought Peace, Love, Mercy, Forgiveness, Restitution, and Fellowship, but without positive results…The other parties involved simply refuse to budge, even though they claim to be Christians serving God with their lives…I have resolved that they have a “will” too, and their “will” is that this matter be “not” resolved; not at this time anyway…Truthfully, I can no longer judge what God allows and doesn’t allow for someone else’s life. He knows the hearts of all men…

So, finding God’s will in this particular matter, or in any other daily matter, comes down to “acceptance-by- faith.” As the age-old Serenity Prayer says:

God grant me the serenity
to accept the things I cannot change;
courage to change the things I can;
and wisdom to know the difference.
Living one day at a time;
Enjoying one moment at a time;
Accepting hardships as the pathway to peace;
Taking, as He did, this sinful world
as it is, not as I would have it;
Trusting that He will make all things right
if I surrender to His Will;
That I may be reasonably happy in this life
and supremely happy with Him
Forever in the next.
Amen.
–Reinhold Niebuhr

In 2014, may we all be reminded within our hearts and minds to live each day knowing that God’s thoughts are not our thoughts; neither are our ways His ways. (Isaiah 55:8 KJV) And, may we each one find the Serenity Path to guide our steps along the way. God Bless You…

Remember, God Loves You!
Lin T Rollins, M.Ed, Author

One thought on “God’s Will…Really?

  1. WOW… Just what I needed to read. I’m up at 3am myself – sick over our situation that just drags on and gets worse – I don’t see positive outcome in spite of fasting, prayers, and tears. I am trying to accept as well.

Leave a Reply

