Are You Happy?

Are You Happy?

What makes you Happy? Think about it. What really makes you Happy? A new car? A new wardrobe? A new friend? Perhaps, a trip out of town? When you think about it there are all kinds of possibilities to “make” us happy. But, with these types of things the “new” usually wears off with time and you are left searching for another “fix” to make you happy.

But, what if you found a way to keep “happiness” within you at all times; no matter the situation, circumstance, or matter? God tells us that there is a way. God teaches us to, “Seek ye FIRST the Kingdom of Heaven and His Righteousness, and all these things shall be added unto you.” (Matt. 6:33 KJV). It is sad how some people simply refuse to accept and apply this most promising Biblical Truth into their lives. Decade after decade passes and they still run after superficial, shallow, external, and trivial objects to make temporary “fixes” of happiness into their lives. It’s like watching a dog chase his own tail…They just keep running around and around without accomplishing what they are running after. But, I have found that there is nothing more satisfying or brings more happiness in life than Seeking and Serving God’s own Son, Jesus Christ.

For me, there’s nothing more fulfilling than sitting on a church pew hearing the Words of God proclaimed and preached from the pulpit. There’s nothing more soothing than singing in sweet harmony the Songs of Zion. There’s nothing more exciting and rewarding than seeing a lost soul surrender his or her life to the Lord. And, what’s so wonderful about this type of happiness? It never fades! And, I don’t have to wait for a new, improved, or updated version…God is the Same, Yesterday, Today, and Forever…His JOYS are never ending and never ceasing and need not be improved upon…When I trust in Jesus I have the real deal forever and forever. (Hebrews 13:8).

Maybe, you are one who attends church on occasion or when the opportunity presents itself. That’s good; but what is better is when you attend church regularly and faithfully (as your physical health allows) and grow in the Lord with other brothers and sisters in Christ. Making your foundation solid, sure, and steady in the Lord promotes God’s Spirit of Joy and Happiness within your heart that even flows over to those around you. Because my husband is a retired Pastor, I have been at the bedside of one who is about to die. I have witnessed both peace and fear in the eyes of the one dying as well as in the eyes of their loved ones and friends. Not once have I ever heard a dying person say, “Oh, I wish I had one more new car.” Or, “I wish I had one more new dress.” Or, “I wish I had taken one more trip.” But, I have heard them say, “Oh, how I wish I had served my Lord better.” That should be the longing of every Christian’s heart…To serve the Lord better.

I believe we discover real, lasting, and satisfying happiness when we seek to Serve our Lord better each and every day; for in doing so we learn that GOD himself brings into our lives those things that HE knows bring about godly happiness. “Seek ye first the Kingdom of God and His Righteousness. And, all these things shall be added unto you. Amen…Are you happy today?

Remember, God Loves You!
Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

