Taking Things for Granted…

Takeing Things for Granted…

Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away (James 4:14 KJV)

It’s funny how life’s unexpected happenings, such as a valued broken bowl, can cause you to ponder life’s deeper meaning. Today, as I was dusting furniture, I accidentally dropped a glass bowl that I valued very much. Of course, it made me sick. If something just has to drop and break, why can’t it be something inexpensive from the Dollar Tree! It seems that those items last forever, while things you cherish the most can often break so easily! I know I have picked up that particular glass bowl a million times over the years, but I won’t be picking it up for a million and one! Then, it occurred to me that we toss away things in our lives every day that do NOT hold value to us…Our land fields are filled with discarded trash and broken items we no longer need or require in our lives…

But, not so true for those things that we do cherish. We want to hang on to them and take good care of them. The same is true with family members and friendships we have in our lives…We don’t like to let them go; even when they are broken…And, if they do get broken, we tend to do all we can to mend the breaks! Just like I should have taken more caution and time picking up my valued glass bowl, we all need to make sure that we take more caution, more time, and more effort in showing and sharing our love with those we value the most in our lives.

I suppose after all these years, I simply took my glass bowl for granted and picked it up too quickly without getting a firmer grip on it. And, in a blink of an eye, it was gone…Sadly; we can take people in our lives for granted just the same way. The glass bowl was actually just “stuff.” Stuff comes and goes in our lives all the time. But, family and cherished friendships are more important than “stuff!” Today, there may be someone in your life who you have been meaning to call or visit. I encourage you to stop what you are doing and make preparations for that call or visit, because just as quickly as that glass bowl slipped out of my hand and shattered all over my living room floor, life can be taken away from us in a blink of the eye. For, what is your life? It is even a vapour that appeareth and then it is gone Amen.

Remember, God Loves You! (And, Praise be unto God, we are never just “stuff” to Him!)
Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

