Prayers That Availeth Much!

Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in Him; and he shall bring it to pass.” Psalm 37:5

On May 2nd, 2013, National Day of Prayer, I joined a group of citizens and several pastors from surrounding churches to pray for our great nation. As we stood up to sing our National Anthem something pretty amazing happened. The winds started picking up speed and for a brief moment I wondered if the tent that we were gathered under would be able to withstand the surging gusts. However, at the same time, the stately USA red, white, and blue Flag decided to take center stage and take our minds off the possible collapse of the tent to notice its majestic waving beauty. When we first started to sing the flag hang limp around the pole, but suddenly with each word proceeding forth from our lips the flag came alive as it mounted up stronger and stronger until it stood perpendicular to the ground. It seemed as if it had taken on a life of its own and was showing those of us singing how truly proud it was to be an American Flag. Then, as we sang the final words to the stanza, “O say, does that star-spangled banner yet wave O’er the land of the free and the home of the brave,” it seemingly turned to face the crowd and started waving up and down! At first, I thought I was the only one who had noticed this powerful reminder of God’s grace shed upon our country, but when the host Pastor stood to speak he too was taken in awe of the flag’s dramatic performance. It was as if God, the wind, and the flag were making their presence known unto us. After that, what a wonderful time of Prayer we had!

But, as the program continued, I was suddenly reminded of a particular prayer request that I have failed to be faithful. Oh, yes, I have called this need before the Lord on many occasions, but I question both my motives and sincerity. I became acutely aware that if I truly want to see my nation turn around for God then I must sincerely and faithfully start praying for our nation’s current leaders and President. So, I began to pray for genuine salvation to come to our President, his wife, and their daughters. Instead of praying as I have been praying for the past five years, “Lord, do something!” I realized that our President needs to first know God through a personal relationship with Christ Jesus if he is to ever understand the “hearts” and “minds” of the godly citizens who live within our country, as well as how to successfully govern our land. I also realized that for him to call our nation a “Christian” nation that he, himself, will need to fully understand what it means to be a Christian! So, I have committed myself to praying daily for our President’s Salvation through a personal, born-again experience with the Lord Jesus Christ.

The Bible tells of a man who once disregarded Christians and even hunted them down for bounty. But, on the Road to Damascus the Lord shone a Great Light all around him and called him by name. That same man later went on to write more books than any other disciple in the New Testament, and we know him today as the great Apostle Paul. What a major witness would our President become should he, too, come to the Light of Christ!

So, this week, I invite you to join me (if you are not already doing so) in praying for Salvation to come to the White House first through the President, then his wife and daughters, and then to those who surround and advise him. May each one of our nation’s leaders see the Eternal Greatness and Light of our Lord Jesus Christ. Amen.

Remember, God Loves You! And, yes, we are a Christian Nation!

Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

