God’s Peace…

God’s Peace
Be careful for nothing; but in everything by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God. And the peace of God, which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus. (Philippians 4:7)

There is a formula to finding daily peace; and it’s not always easy to follow. It requires Faith; and sometimes even Greater Faith. But, without Faith, it is impossible to please God. The Bible teaches us to carry “everything” to God in prayer by Faith; not just some things, but everything. Also, as we pray, there is an attitude of “thanksgiving” (gratefulness) that we are to possess as we present our petitions to God.

Using the above formula, it appears that there are three things that will rob a Christian of God’s Peace that passes all understanding…Lack of Faith, Lack of Prayer, and Lack of Thanksgiving. The Bible teaches, “But let him ask in faith, nothing wavering (or doubting). For he that wavers (doubts) is like a wave of the sea driven with the wind and tossed.” Oh, how I can attest to the fact that when my faith is weak and doubts it feels as if I am on a roller coaster of waves! But, the Bible teaches, “We are to walk (live) by faith not by sight. (2 Cor. 5:7). The Spiritual realm of life is the exact opposite of the physical realm. In the physical world we walk by sight, but in the Spiritual realm we walk by Faith; “The substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things NOT yet seen.” (Hebrews 11:1). By Faith, we know that “all things work together for the good of those who Love the Lord.” (Romans 8:28) Not that ALL things are good, but by Faith we know that “all” things are working out within our lives according to God’s purpose and plan.

The next part of the formula is Prayer. The Bible teaches us to, “Pray without ceasing.” (I Thessalonians 5:17). Prayer is simply communication with God. Instead of talking out our problems, needs, and concerns to everyone else, we talk to God about them on a regular, continuous, daily basis. As the old Gospel hymns declares, “Sweet Hour of Prayer.” We may live in a technology-driven society, but there’s never been a greater source of communication than Prayer!

Finally, our formula for Peace teaches us to maintain a heart of “Thanksgiving.” A thankful heart is a grateful and humble heart that places God on the throne of our lives instead of selfish or self-centered motives.
As I get older, I want to guard the Peace of God within my life even greater. Just this past week, I had some developments occur that immediately tried to rob me of Peace. After a day or two being filled with anxieties, the Holy Spirit reminded me of God’s Peace that passes “all” understanding. After I examined my heart, I realized that I was lacking in Faith, Prayer, and Thanksgiving. Once, I entered into my prayer-closet and poured out my heart before God, His Peace took over. Ah, Wonderful Peace! The issue is not resolved, but God is in control and He will bring it to pass according to His will and purpose. Now, I can face the day in God’s Peace.

Author’s Note: Today’s blog is copied from a weekly newspaper article that I write for The Dallas New Era located in Dallas, Georgia.

Remember, God Loves You,
Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

