No Good Deed…

No Good Deed…

For God shall bring every work into judgment, with every secret thing, whether it be good, or whether it be evil. Ecclesiastes 12:14

Have you ever heard of the expression, “No good deed goes unpunished?” If you are at least my age, 56, you know what I am talking about. It seems the more “good” we try to do the more insult and injury we can personally receive.
We live in a selfish society. We sometimes barely “survive” among selfish family members. It seems that when we try to put our best foot forward to help, we come back with one less foot!

But, there is hope. There is justice for all, and it can be found in the words of King Solomon…”God shall bring every work into judgment…” Thank goodness God is keeping a record; a score card so to speak. We don’t have to “work” for salvation because none of us could ever work hard enough to earn salvation! We are saved through the complete, finished works of Jesus Christ. Amen. What I am talking about is good deeds and works for fellow mankind…Sometimes, we simply don’t get the appreciation or response that we feel we are owed. But, God knows the “heart” of all matters. He knows when our “heart” is in something or when we are just doing it for personal, self-gain.

As a retired pastor’s wife, mother, and school teacher, I know a thing or two about trying my best to help or assist others to reach their full potential and for the Glory of God and the up building of His kingdom only to have them sadly mistake my intentions. In the ministry you have to learn to dread waters lightly! In other words, “don’t rock the boat!” But, it’s not only church members or co-workers and peers who can mistake our intentions…It can happen in our immediate family as well. And, when it does…it hurts our feelings. Family dynamics can be the hardest to juggle at times…Too much this way or too much that way will upset and unbalance a happy haven. We all need God’s help in our lives when interacting one with another.

Today, I am thankful that God sees and knows my heart. I know you are, too. The Bible says that man’s heart is deceptive and wicked. I believe that good, saved Christians will one day be surprised when God reveals our own true motives for things we did while on Earth. I try to be on guard with my heart and confess my sins and faults each and every day…But, I’m sure, like all other human beings, my heart can be deceived as well.

I like what King Solomon said, “Let us hear the conclusion of the whole matter; FEAR GOD, and keep HIS commandments: for this is the WHOLE DUTY of man.” Amen…

Remember, God Loves You
Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

