Day 15 Celebrating Immanuel

Day 15 Celebrating Immanuel

And His Name shall be called Wonderful, Counselor,Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace….      (Isaiah 9:6)

Continuing with Isaiah’s powerful prophetic introduction of Jesus, I want to look closely at the title given, MIGHTY GOD…

Let me ask you this question.  What images and thoughts come to your mind when you read the words, “Mighty God?”  I first think of the words Strong and brave.  I think of someone who is very strong, capable, not afraid, heroic, and full of courage. It renders in my mind the image of a strong, well-skilled warrior who defends those who are less strong, weak, and who are afraid.  My Mighty God protects those who are his from an everlasting danger of Hell, Fire, and Brimstone where Evil will dwell for all eternity. And, while on earth our Mighty God protects us with his Peace that passes all understanding.

Next, I think of Mighty God as someone who has power and authority; a ruler or king.  But, here on earth man’s power and authority can be used for both evil and good.  But, in God’s mighty kingdom all power and authority will be used for GOOD throughout all eternity.  No more Hitlers or Ben Ladens who use their power and authority to destroy and kill others while trying to build up themselves and their causes. Our Mighty God’s Sovereign power rules the universe in Love, Mercy, and full of Grace for all eternity…Amen.

Next, I think of the words Mighty GOD as meaning a Superior, more highly intelligent Being that far exceeds and surpasses the physical, mental, and spiritual abilities and powers of any human being.  I know GOD as the Great I AM!  One who humbles both my mind, heart, and imaginations to a place of total awe and surrender.  God is Greater by far than all my sins, my unworthiness, and even my self-righteousness….My thoughts are not His thoughts and my ways are not His ways…He is MIGHTY GOD in ALL His ways.

I have looked at Mighty God as being Strong, Sovereign, and Superior…(Just to give God all the Glory and credit here…While writing this blog I did not purposely use Alliteration to bring about my points, but God obviously did! I just noticed the three words, Strong, Sovereign, and Superior…I love when God writes for me! Just another example of His being a Mighty God!)

Today, let’s rejoice together in our Mighty God who is like no other and who far exceeds and surpasses any thoughts of our own understandings and imaginations…For HE is MIGHTY GOD ALMIGHTY IS HE! Amen…

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T  Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

