Dead Batteries!

Dead Batteries!

11 In him (Christ Jesus) we were also chosen,[a] having been predestined according to the plan of him who works out everything in conformity with the purpose of his will,12 in order that we, who were the first to put our hope in Christ, might be for the praise of his glory.  (Ephesians 1:11-12)

How often do we underestimate or overlook God in the smaller things in life?  As believers, we “believe” and posses FAITH that ALL things are working out according to God’s plan for our lives as well as for His purpose (Romans 8:28).  Does this include “Dead Batteries?”  You decide…

My husband and I have just returned home from a weekend trip to the North Carolina mountains in the southeastern part of the United States.  May I add that God’s amazing kaleidoscope, panorama, majestic Fall scenery was just what we were needing in our lives!!…Ahhh, the peaceful and tranquil oasis of the Great Smokey Mountains fully clothed in their splendid Fall attire.

While we were there, we took a scenic  train ride on the Great Smokey Mountain Railroad from Bryson City to Nanahala Gorge.  I knew that the batteries in my digital camera were starting to get low. I had already prompted my husband on the drive up that we needed to stop at a store to purchase new batteries. But, somehow both he and I kept “forgetting” about the batteries UNTIL we were on the train!

At the train station, I had snapped a couple of pictures before boarding.  Within minutes of the train’s departure, I grabbed my camera for one more shot….There it was…”No Battery.”  My husband saw my immediate facial expression and the enlargement of my eyes as he responded, “Oh, no. We forgot to get new batteries.” I glanced down at my wrist watch to see if I would have time to jump off the train, run to the gift shop, purchase batteries, and rush back to the train.  It was too late…There would not be time.

So, I took a deep breath and placed my camera down on the dining table in front of us.  As I did, the gentleman sitting across the aisle from us addressed me. “I have some extra batteries in my case. You can have them.”  I thanked him as I offered to pay for them. But, he refused my offer and insisted that I just take the two batteries.  I thanked him again and quickly changed out the batteries as the train reached its first notable spot of Fall beauty!

A little later into the ride, the same man and his wife invited my husband and I to join them at their table.  Most of the mountain scenery was on their side of the train.  We introduced ourselves to one another and quickly discovered that we had several things in common:  First, we both live in cities having the same name but in different states.  We live in Georgia and they live in Texas.  Next, we discovered that we both have three children including one set of twins!  We also learned that two of us were both retired school teachers. And, we discovered that we were all Christians active in our Faith as well as supporting the same Presidential candidate! A whole list of commonalities!

As the train moved along, each of us experienced and enjoyed the beautiful scenery.  As we continued to chat, we also discovered that our lives possessed similar patterns interacting with our adult children and grandchildren.  Soon, we were exchanging “grandparent” stories that seemingly brought us into the same sphere of life; even though we live in different sections of the country.  We quickly learned that geographical differences don’t affect the “heart” of parenting and grandparenting, nor does it affect the “heart” of being a Christian….Having so many things in common, you would have thought we lived across the street from one another; not across the country!

When the train trip was over, we shared how each of us felt enriched, encouraged, and blessed for having gotten to meet one another.  Upon our departure, we exchanged email addresses and suggestions for a few good books to read.  As my husband and I were walking back to our car I stated, “You know, we would have never met that lovely couple and shared our stories had it not been for theDead Batteries.”  My husband replied, “That’s true.”

God used “Dead Batteries” that day to bring about His purpose and plan to enrich our weekend vacation.  Now, that’s a God who really is in charge of EVERYTHING!!  To God be the Glory…Great things HE has done!  So, the next time you run out of batteries, it could just be God’s way of providing you an opportunity for a much bigger blessing!  Amen.

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, Author

@ All Posts on this site are copyrighted by Lin T Rollins 2011-2012

Leave a Reply

