Storm? Or, Trial?

Storm? Or, Trial?

Knowing this, that the trying (trial) of your faith worketh patience…Let patience have her perfect (maturing) work, that ye may be perfect (matured) and entire; wanting nothing (fully trusting in God)…(James 1:4 KJV)

There are over two-thousand, two-hundred active storms circling our planet each day.  Storms also blow into and out of our lives: physical, emotional, and spiritual storms.  Storms, no matter their size or destructive forces, have a way of ending; ceasing…calming…They eventually “move” on…Praise the Lord!

But, what about a TRIAL?  Think about it…Some judicial trials end within a few hours while others can take weeks and weeks…Storms tend to leave a path of destruction, but typically in time the destroyed properties can be fixed or restored…If the storms are not too massive in size and nature…But, what about a trial?  In a TRIAL, a person’s life usually changes for the good or bad depending upon the outcome of a particular long-standing trail…

I have come to the conclusion that we, as Christians, sometime refer to ongoing, lengthy, hard-pressing, “unexpected” happenings and events as storms when in fact they are better described as TRIALS…Why?  Because trials last longer, go deeper, and their outcomes often change the heart, soul, mindset, and direction of our lives…

There have been many storms hit my life, as with many of you.  But, I have endured a rather long, ongoing, TRIAL in my life for many years now…It’s constant, daily, steady, continuous, oppressing, depressing, and weighty…Some days I can press onward with more strength than others…(The Joy of the Lord is my strength!)….However,  on some days the long, enduring, steady, and hurtful trial seems as if it is breathing down my neck and pressing me to the ground as if to say, “I’ve won…You’re defeated!”  …On those days, I MUST exercise a greater faith to keep my thoughts and mind from wanting to “do” something to bring about relief; even if the relief isn’t good for me or any other stake-holder involved!!..Those days are tough…On those days, you learn to simply press forward one micro-second at a time…

With “STORMS” there are usually encouraging signs of its ending or disipation…However, there are NO signs when a trial will ever end…You just keep enduring “it” until the day finally comes and the trial is past and over…A moment that we like to refer to as, “Breakthrough!”

I believe trials can be anything from long-term sicknesses, on-going relational problems that seem to never get better no matter what you do, areas in our lives that haunt us day in and day out no matter how many times we have prayed over them, claimed the blood of Christ over them, or rebuked Satan and all of his demons over them to leave us in the name of Jesus!  No matter what we do the next hour, the next day, the next week, the next month, the next year…the “trial” still haunts us…haunting trials…Lord, for YOUR strength we pray to endure haunting trials!

But, I am LEARNING something in my very own, personal, on-going trial…IT IS WORKING  INWARDLY and OUTWARDLY THE FRUIT OF THE SPIRIT in my life!!!  I am learning that LOVE,JOY, PEACE and PATIENCE (LONGSUFFERING) are fruits I can harvest and enjoy in the midst of my trial…I have learning that GENTLENESS (a calmed-spirit) and GOODNESS (choosing to do good in the face of adversity) are Fruits I can reap even when in distress…I am learning that FAITH (what I cannot see), MEEKNESS (the willingness to be a grateful, life-long, obedient learner),  and TEMPERANCE (maintaining self-control) are Fruits that Honor and exalt my Heavenly Father that I would otherwise not know anything about without “my” trial…

Oh, the far-reaching results of Trials within our lives…They can actually do a body good!  (If we let them produce the Fruit of the Spirit within our lives that God is trying to produce!)

No one likes to be on “trial.”  When we are on “trial,” we are usually examined and questioned about our motives and actions…That’s exactly what God is working out in our lives when we are in “trials.”  GOD is questioning our motives and actions…GOD is stirring up our heart’s plotted soil-of-life to bring forth HIS Fruit…So, that HE will be glorified and honored…Oh, the trials of life…

As the Apostle Paul teaches, “If we live in the Spirit, let us also walk in the Spirit…” What Spirit?  The Fruit of the Spirit as it is being worked inwardly and outwardly in our lives…Ah, but let “patience” have her perfect works…AMEN!!

Press on weary pilgrim; press on…For in doing so ye shall reap Fruit unto your souls…”That the TRIAL of your faith, being much more precious than of gold that perisheth, though it be tried with fire, might be found unto praise and honor and glory at the appearing of Jesus Christ!” (IPeter 1:7 KJV)…

Remember, God Does Love You!  (Even in the midst of the Trial….)

Lin T Rollins, Author

copyright by Lin T Rollins @

One thought on “Storm? Or, Trial?

  1. Really enjoying your blog! It’s like you are speaking right to my heart. I’m in the midst of a major trial (VAD/stroke in March followed by anxiety and a bit of depression I can’t seem to shake) and I know you’ve been there. I have 5 daughters and am homeschooling them and my biggest goal through all of this is to suffer as Christlike as possible so they will know how to suffer in their lives.

Leave a Reply

