The Powerful Meaning of “Though”

The Powerful Meaning of “Though”

Though I speak with the tongues of men and of angels, and have not charity, I am become as sounding brass, or a tinkling cymbal…(I Corinthians 13:1 K JV)

I fear that way too many times as students of the Bible, the Word of God, we often overlook and sidestep the more significant placement and meanings of certain words.  One such word is the term, “Though.”  The word,  “though” is typically used as a conjunction connecting two thoughts that often have either a conditional purpose or a prerequisite application.. “Though” I have the gift of prophecy, and understand all mysteries, and all knowledge, and “Though” I have all faith, so that I could remove mountains, and have NOT charity, I am Nothing. (I Corinthians 13:2).

It seems that for the most part we would rather focus upon the positive part of a concept or truth without looking at the “condition” placed upon that particular concept or truth.  In I Corinthians 13:1-13, the conditional overlying theme of Charity (God’s Pure Love) is most significant…As Christians, it is the condition of godly love, godly character, and godly charity that motivates, leads, guides, and directs our works, deeds, ways, and acts of kindness…Without “Charity” (God’s pure love and selfless motive), we become as tinkling cymbals boasting of our many good works “THOUGH” our own efforts, deceitful hearts, ill-gained motives, and self-centered minds.  When true “charity” is not our motives…then our motives are usually wrong!

Charity is kind, does not seek its own, not easily provoked, not envious, boasts not of itself, and long-suffering…Sadly, that doesn’t describe the “motives” behind many of our “good” deeds and acts of kindness!  I am afraid that we all live in a society where it is all about , me, me, and what about me?  Like so many others, I, too, have to be rescued from the “me, me, and what about me” mentality!  It’s not something that we can correct one day and believe it will be corrected for life!  We must “die” to self on a daily basis! 

In other words, it is God who sees our hearts and knows our motives for every single thing we do or say…God sees how we conduct and control ourselves from within; not just from without…God already knows the answers to questions such as:  Do we do our alms for others to see us?  Or, do we hide ourselves that God made be uplifted and glorified in ALL that we say or do?  Sadly, I fear that we ALL fall short in the essential realm of Christian virtue, value, and truth with pure motives (known as Charity!) as we go about conducting ourselves with less than “perfect” motives for what we say and do for and unto others…Even though we say that we are doing “it” in the name of Jesus…God, already sees and knows the heart. .

If we truly want to examine “ourselves” and see what we are missing in our Christian walk we need NOT to look any farther than the book of I Corinthians chapter thirteen.  Three nights ago, I picked up my Bible and read chapter 13 thirteen times in a row.  Each time that I reread the chapter it “shouted” out to me things that were missing in my Christian service…It says that I can speak prophecies, understand all knowledge, possess faith to move mountains, give my goods away to the poor, or give my body to be sacrificed…THOUGH, if I don’t have CHARITY (LOVE…God’s Love), I am NOTHING…

Did you see that?  All of my “good” works manifested in the flesh are nothing without the true inward motive of truly uplifting Christ Jesus for the building of the kingdom of God…

On tomorrow, I’ll look at how true, pure “charity” lives, thinks, and responds to all types of situations, people, and circumstances within our lives…

And, now abides faith, hope, and charity…these three, but the greatest of these is charity.  Tomorrow, we will look at how “charity” should be naturally expressed and exposed in our lives…Amen.  Have a blessed day…

Until then, remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, Author

copyrighted by Lin T Rollins

Leave a Reply

