In the Valley…

In the Valley, He Restoreth My Soul…

Yea, though I walk THROUGH the Valley of the Shadow of Death I will fear NO evil…(Psalm 23)

On yesterday, I sat down at my piano and played several southern gospel tunes from the mid 70’s and 80’s. The songs were a sweet and gentle reminder of the times I had faced as a young mother raising my three daughters in church and in the knowledge of the Lord.  What precious memories.  My daughters also sang with their Pastor dad for many years before they all grew up and became mothers of their own; raising their own children in church and in the knowledge of the Lord.  What a blessing.

But, one song in particular touched my heart as I played it. It was a song that I had sang for many years in a trio, “He Restoreth My Soul,” written by Dottie Rambo in 1970.

“When I’m low in spirit I cry Lord lift me up, I want to go higher with Thee; But the Lord knows I can’t live on the mountain, so He picked out a valley for me.”

Oh, the many valleys God picks out for his children to walk “through.” God’s children are always on the spiritual move much like the children of Israel were always on the physical move…around and around the mountain before they entered into the promised land.  As Christians we have highs and lows in our lives much like mountain top experiences and valley experiences…As we mature and develop our faith in Jesus Christ we learn to enjoy the mountain top experiences and appreciate the valley experiences for what they teach us and show us.

When we are on the mountain top we can look out and see the vast lands before us; as beautiful and breathtaking as they are….And, we rejoice in that…Yet; in the valley, we actually live in the land long enough to see it firsthand and experience its many hidden joys and secrets that we could not see from high upon the mountain top.  (In the valley He restoreth my soul.)

In the valley we also find “still” (peaceful) waters.  Not so on the mountain top…Waters found on mountain tops are usually running and rushing downward…But, in the valley the same precious waters have slowed down and are now peaceful and stilled…In the valley, we can drink from the stilled refreshing waters without fear of falling in and being rushed downstream!  Oh, the precious hidden secrets found in the valley!

When we reach the top of any mountain we no longer need to climb. Should we forever live upon the mountain top our physical strength and spiritual strength would eventually weaken and dry-up because we would have no more need to “exercise” either…We would become complacent; apathetic in nature…But, the valleys help to keep our eyes looking “upward” and onward; and pressing forward.  (So, he picked out a valley for me!)

God knows what He is doing; even when we don’t.  God lives High above all the mountains and valleys in our lives…So, whether we are experiencing a mountaintop blessing or living a valley trial God reigns and rules high above both…And, He uses both for our benefit…”The Lord loads us up daily with His benefits!”  Amen…

This morning your own soul may be in need of restoration, re-jubilation, or refreshing…No matter your physical or spiritual location, the mountain top or the valley, God can and will meet you there…He will restore, rejubliate, and refresh your soul!

“Yea, though I walk through the Valley of the Shadow of Death, I will fear NO evil; for thou (God) art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me…”

Yes; yes, in the Valley, He restoreth my soul…Thank you O Lord for the mountains and the valleys in my life…For I know that you will always meet me there….Amen…

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, Author

copyright by Lin T Rollins

Leave a Reply

