The Way We Speak…

The Way We Speak…

Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord…(Ephesians 5:19 KJV)

 A good man out of the good treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is good; and an evil man out of the evil treasure of his heart bringeth forth that which is evil: for of the abundance of the heart his mouth speaketh. (Luke 6:45).

Ephesians 5:19 found in the King James Version reads, “Speaking to yourselves…” The same chapter and verse in the New International Version reads, “Speak to one another…”  Both versions refer to a specific method of “speaking” from a Spirit-filled heart (psalms, hymns, spiritual songs); however, I feel that the Apostle Paul could be instructing us that how we first “speak to ourselves” (yourselves) reflects upon how we “speak to one another.”

So, if we speak to ourselves (self-talk; self-thought, meditation) by singing psalms (The entire book of Psalms are prayerful lyrics that were once set to beautiful Hebrew music.), hymns (songs of praise), and spiritual songs (songs NOT pertaining to the materialistic world) it will show forth when we “speak one to another!”  The Apostle Paul goes on to instruct, “Singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord.”  As the old adage goes, “A Merry Heart is a Cheerful Heart.”

Interesting!  The Way We Speak one to another is first determined by how we silently speak within ourselves!  Let me ask you a question…Would you rather approach a person who is silently speaking to his self or her self in words of adoration unto the Lord or to someone who is plotting their next verbal assault on an innocent victim??!!  Of course, the answer is a no-brainer!  We want to approach the person who is enjoying their pleasant thoughts!!!

Well, not everyone who is NOT speaking Psalms within their hearts is plotting their next verbal assault, but how we think and what we are thinking reflects upon how we interact both verbally and physically one with another.  And, the Bible clearly teaches us that “out of the abundance of the heart we speak.”

So, today why not try “thinking” upon Praising God in Psalms, Hymns, or Spiritual Songs and see what happens??!! I believe that as we fill our thoughts and hearts with Praise unto the Lord that it will most definitely have an impact on how our day will go. I’m not saying that things will go splendid; without a single hitch!  That would be foolish of me.  But, I am saying that as we “sing melodies of Praise and Thanksgivings” within our hearts and thoughts towards God, it will help to empower us to face our day in God’s strength and Joy. (The Joy of the Lord is Your Strength.” Nehemiah 8:10).  And, people will just recognize and notice a gentler and kinder you (and me!).

Here are some examples of Psalms, Hymns, and Spiritual Songs you may want to think about. Then, add your own!:    Oh, Give Thanks unto the Lord for He is Good.”….  “Amazing Grace How Sweet the Sound that Saved a Wretch Like Me.”….. “I Am Blessed. I Am Blessed. Everyday that I Live I Am Blessed.”…. “I’m not Giving Up; I’m not Turning ’round. By the Grace of God I’ll Wear a Shinning Crown Some Day.” ….”I’ll Leave It All Behind Some Day.”….”O Victory in Jesus My Savior Forever.”…..”Some Glad Morning We Shall See Jesus in the Air.”….”The Lord is My Shepherd I Shall Not Want.”….”What A Friend We Have in Jesus.”  “O Blessed Rock of Ages.”…. 

I don’t know about you, but I’m already feeling stronger and better in the day! And, I feel certain it will show in “The Way We Speak!” Amen!!!!

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, Author

copyrighted by Lin T Rollins

Leave a Reply

