A Worthy Walk…

A Worthy Walk…

I Therefore, the prisoner of the LORD, beseech (beg) you that ye walk worthy of the vocation wherewith ye are called…(Ephesians 4:1 KJV).

In the Apostle Paul’s letter to the church at Ephesus, he strongly testifies of his personal calling to preach and teach the Word of God as well as to “live” consistently according to its teachings.

In chapter four of Ephesians, Paul “begs” (beseech) that we, as followers of Christ, WALK worthy of the VOCATION wherewith we are called.  We all know that the word, “WALK” is an action verb meaning to “make movement” by putting “one leg before the other.”  But, with a little further research, the word “walk” actually means that one foot stays “positioned” on or in contact with the ground as the other foot moves forward or backwards. (Oh, how we need “grounded” Christians!) Nevertheless, as oppose to the action verb, run, which means that the feet move more rapidly resulting in both feet being off or leaving the ground momentarily during the onward stride….Mmmm…Interesting!

Now, let’s look closer at the word, “vocation.”  The word “vocation” means somebody’s work, job, or profession, especially a type of work demanding special commitment.  It also means: a strong feeling of being destined or called to undertake a specific type of work, especially a sense of being chosen by God for religious work or a religious lifeAmazing!  (Many are called, but few are chosen!)

Paul  instructs; no he actually begs, Christians (followers of Christ)  to “Walk” (keeping one foot on the ground at all times!) worthy (something that holds value or someone who is morally upright, good, and deserving respect)  of the vocation (a calling upon our lives that requires special commitment) wherewith we are called at all times!  A daily “walk” with Christ…A daily commitment in our relationship with Christ!

Personally, I like the concept, “walk;” meaning to keep one foot on the ground at all times.  To me, that means a “well-balanced,” grounded  life…In other words, not getting ahead of ourselves or falling too far behind, but rather maintaining a steady, manageable pace. I also like the concept that I, as a believer, am to “walk worthy” (placing value upon being upright and deserving in a world that places little value on anything good or right!) in the “vocation” (the call upon a Christian’s life that requires commitment) at all times.  Steady; steady; steady as we go!!!!

In other words, I am to “walk” one-step-at-a-time. I am to take each day one-day-at-a-time. I am to face each event or obstacle one-happening-at-a-time.  Why?  Because, should I increase my speed too much I can fall down and hurt myself as well as others.  Should I decrease my step too much I can fall too far behind or even left behind and not be found worthy of the vocation upon my life….A “BALANCED,” well-maintained, steady….one-day-at-a-time…wonderful, joyous WORTHY WALK in Christ Jesus!

Whew…I don’t know about you, but that brings a little bit of relief into my life!  I don’t have to be concerned about the Christian I might be tomorrow, if I simply “walk” the path of my vocation as a Christian today….one step at a time….keeping one foot on the ground at all times!  Not too fast….not too slow…steady as we go….

As the old eastern proverbs goes….”A million mile journey begins with one step.”  One step!  One step at a time!  One foot leaving the ground while the other foot remains steadfast on the ground…not running, not sprinting, not galloping….just walking!

I don’t know about you, but today I think I am just simply going to WALK with my Lord one glorious step at a time!  Amen!!

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins

Author

Copyright: Lin T Rollins

 

One thought on “A Worthy Walk…

Leave a Reply

