Every Title That Can be Given…

Every Title That Can be Given…

“And seated him (Jesus Christ) at his (God’s) right hand in the heavenly realms, far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and every title that can be given, not only in the present age but also in the one to come. (Ephesians 1: 20-21 NIV).

Do titles impress you?  Of course they do.  We would be telling a lie if we denied that our heads can sometimes be easily turned by a person’s title and status in life.

Several years ago, I attended a motivational conference for educators.  When my party arrived we were running a few minutes late due to congested traffic.  Seated at our table was a very well-dressed lady. She was very charming and possessed a very kind, attentive demeanor.  As I sat down, she spoke to me.  I reciprocated the conversation and we both made a couple of “educational” jokes about the role of a classroom teacher.  We both laughed. Then, she asked my name and where we were from.  As I was introducing myself, the room suddenly fell silent as the speaker standing at the podium introduced our state’s school board superintendent.  You can only imagine my surprise when the lady I was talking with stood up and gave the audience a smile and wave!  Kindly, she smiled down at me, patted me on the shoulder, and made her way to the stage.  When I turned around in shock to look at my peers, one of the male teachers in our group was laughing almost uncontrollably and commented, “You mean you really didn’t know who she was?”  Of course, it was weeks before I lived that one down!

Before I knew for certain who the lady actually was, I was just being my typical “southern,” never-meet-a-stranger, authentic self.  After I discovered who she was, it quickly changed my entire perspective. I would have never made such light-hearted comments about the teaching profession had I known I was making them directly to the state’s superintendent!  How easily “titles” can change things!

However, have you ever seriously considered all of the titles that God placed upon His only begotten Son, Jesus Christ?  The Apostle Paul describes Jesus as, “Far above all rule and authority, power and dominion, and EVERY TITLE that can be given…”  Amazing. So, ask yourself this question, “If we can be so impressed at times with earthly titles, how is it that we can be so disregarding towards the King of Kings and Lord of Lords?”  His “title” is “far above” all other titles.  Amen.

Today, we may all need a renewing awareness and a deeper enlightenment of who Jesus Christ actually is.  He is no longer a baby in Bethlehem.  He is no longer a poor carpenter’s son.  He is no longer an innocent man hanging on a cross.  He is no longer the man placed inside a borrowed tomb…He is the Resurrected Son of God; creator of the universe.  He is the Almighty Prince of Peace; the Everlasting Father.  KIng of Kings; Lord of Lords…The Eternal One whereby all Power is Given in Heaven and on earth.

Oh, yes my friend, the majestic, everlasting titles of Jesus Christ are FAR ABOVE Every Title That Can be Given!  Let me ask you this most important question.  “Do you know him today?  Do you know him personally as your Lord and Savior?”  If not, I want to introduce you to a man whose life can and will change your life…Jesus Christ, Son of the Living God.  (John 3:16…For God gave his only begotten Son (Jesus Christ) that whosoever shall believe in Him shall have everlasting life.) Amen.

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

All blogs are copyrighted by Lin T Rollins

.

One thought on “Every Title That Can be Given…

  1. Pingback: Are You A Leader? « bummyla

Leave a Reply

