Blameless

Blameless

According as he (God) hath chosen us in him before the foundation of the world, that we should be holy and without blame (blameless) before him in love…Ephesians 1:4 KJV

Can you recall the first time that you were “blamed” for something that you did or did not do?  I can.  I was somewhere around four years old when I accidentally (I don’t have a clue how I did this!) cracked my mother’s mirror that hung in the bathroom…Ouch!

When daddy got home from work, Momma showed him the big crack that went from one side of the mirror to the other.  I believe she was expecting him to scold me for the incident.  Yet; at that time, Daddy showed me mercy.  I was standing in the hallway crying as he explained to my mother that he had seen a small crack in the mirror a few days earlier.  Afterwards, he did scold me about playing with the mirror, but thankfully he did not whip or punish me.  Honestly,  I believe I remember the incident mostly because of the “mercy” that my dad showed to me that day.

In the book of Ephesians, we read that God will one day hold us “without blame” before him in love… What mercy our God shows towards his children!  As the years have rolled on in my life, since the time I was four years old, I can truly say that there have been times when I was actually “to blame” for things.  For instance, like the time I falsely accused a classmate in the second grade of looking in the teacher’s grade book.  Actually, it was me who had peeped in the teacher’s grade book on a dare from another student.  When the teacher returned to the classroom, she saw that her grade book was not in its rightful location. When she asked the class “who” had been at her desk, I quickly responded, “Lamar.”  Poor little Lamar.  His eyes got as big as a sauser…He didn’t know what to say.  He had to go over and stand in the corner for “his” bad deed…Ouch!  Not only was I the one who had committed the “bad deed,” I falsely accused another student, and he got the “blame.”  (I’m not proud of this memory!)

I have thought about that incident at times down through the years and wish that I could see “Lamar” to apologize to him.  Since I haven’t seen him, I have asked Jesus to forgive me of my childish errors and ways…It was the early 60’s and I was only in the second grade…but I was still to blame for taking the “dare” and accusing another student for the crime!

Yet; God promises that He will present us one day “blameless” before him in love. After all of our sins, transgressions, and iniquities against a Holy God; He is going to see us as being “blameless.”  Amazing… It takes “LOVE” with a capital L-O-V-E to forgive someone of a wrong doing, but to completely erase the crime as if it never happened takes GOD’S LOVE!  And, we, as Christians, are so blessed that God has lots and lots of LOVE for his children (John 3:16 and I John 1:9).

Today, you may be the “blame” of a wrongful act(s), but through Jesus Christ you can find and receive “forgiveness” for your trespasses and sins.  In doing so, you can know and experience the overwhelming liberty of being “blameless” in God’s love.

Oh, God’s  Amazing Grace that saved a wretch like me…Yes; God’s Grace is indeed Amazing and totally “blameless!”  This morning, how thankful I am for God’s amazing Love and Grace, and His promise to present me “blameless” in His love….Amen.

And, Lamar (who would be around 56 years old now!)…if you are out there somewhere and remember being falsely accused in the second grade for something you did not do…I want to apologize…I hope it did not scar you for life!!  I’m really sorry! Forgive me…Whew…that feels so much better…(:-)…Amen.

Have a blessed, “blameless” day in the Lord.

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, Author

One thought on “Blameless

  1. Pingback: Forgiving Others | Life of a Sinner

Leave a Reply

