Downcast

Downcast…

Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me? (Psalm 42:5 NIV)

The word, “cast” is a transitive verb meaning to throw something away from yourself usually with forceful action.  It can also mean to have a sadden, dispirited demeanor, Example: “He cast a shadow over the party.”

In the above verse, the Psalmist is describing his soul as being “downcast.”  Yet, he is asking himself this question, “Why am I downcast?”  In other words, the Psalmist is feeling dispirited and saddened within, but he doesn’t know why…Nevertheless, he does know that he is blessed of the Lord, so why is his soul downcast?

Have you ever felt that way?  I know I have!  We know, as Christians, that we are too blessed to be stressed…And, too blessed to not rejoice in the Lord always…Yet, at times, something inside is array.  Something, we don’t always know what it is, just doesn’t feel right. Something is looming and “casting” a shadow of despair into our life…It happens…And, just as the Psalmist, we, too, need to call out to God, our joy and strength, in those times.

I have found that when I am feeling “downcast,” that it usually means my “HOPE” is being challenged…Satan is trying to “rob” me of my joy…I am looking at things through natural eyes and not spiritual eyes…I am forgetting to “wait on the Lord” and to be of “good courage”…It happens to all of us…I wish it didn’t, but it does…

I have also discovered something significant about myself in recent days…I have always referred to myself as a “realist.” By definition, a “realist” is someone who looks at life from a realistic perspective and deals with its many ups and downs in a realistic, accepting manner… Well,I have discovered that is NOT me…. I am a “dreamer.”  Surprise…Surprise…I dream of things going “right.” I dream of people always getting along and problems always working out for the best for all those involved, and in the shortest time span possible…I really don’t like “confrontation,” and I get upset when it happens, usually making “it” worse!  I actually like to “encourage” people, so that’s pretty much explains why I write an “inspirational” blog, “Break Away to Find God in All Things…”

I have realized that I want to “skip” along the sidewalks of life missing all the cracks and just daring someone to rain on my parade!  I want my lollipop and eat it, too!  I want to cheer everyone onto victory…V-I-C-T-O-R-Y!   I want balloons to sail high in the deep blue skies and when it rains I want to play in the puddles of life!  I want all the stories in life to end, “And, they lived happily ever after…”  Don’t you??

Yet; I have lived most of my life at one point or the other fighting feelings of depression and downcast moods….Why?  Because, instead of being the “realist” that I have always described myself as being…I am actually a “Mary Poppins” sort-of-girl hoping on the inside that a “spoon full of sugar helps the medicine go down!”  And, when life doesn’t work out that way…I become downcast…Doesn’t sound like a “realist” to me; now does it??  I can relate to the Psalmist!

Now, my husband, whom I have always accused of having a “Mary Poppins” outlook on everything, because he takes everything in stride, is actually the true and authentic “Realist” in the family…He accepts things as they happen with a determined and proven FAITH that it will all work out according to God’s plans and purpose somewhere down the road…His favorite saying, “It will all come out in the wash…” 

But, for me, that means I have to wait until “Wash Day…” And, I’m way too impatient for that!!! I want sunny, glowing results NOW!  (Well, they do say “opposites attract!”) So, I have recently learned and concluded that my husband is the “realist,” and I am in fact the “dreamer.”

Why?  Because I “dream” and desire that ALL things work out like it did on “Leave it to Beaver,” and “Father Knows Best.”  I mean no matter the problem or situation, it all got lovingly worked out in thirty minutes or less (minus the commercials!).  Life was also much more simpler back in the 50’s and 60’s…We didn’t have to worry about the majority of TV shows spotlighting a “homosexual” character or “fornication” being the theme of the evening lineup! I mean back then all we ever witnessed was “Andy” and “Helen” doing a little kissing on the sofa!!  Or, “Barney” having lip stick on his face! LOL!

But, none the less, in Psalm 42:5, we find the Psalmist asking the question, “Why are you downcast, O my soul?”  However, in Psalm 43, the Psalmist once again asks the same question, but this time he offers a solution, “Why are you downcast, O my soul? Why so disturbed within me?” Put your HOPE in God, for I will yet praise him, my Savior and my God.” (43:5 NIV).

Today, you might be feeling a little “downcast.”  Your soul is disturbed within you…It happens to all of us…But, don’t be a wistful “dreamer” believing everything should be according to Your own parade, plan, or purpose… Be as the Psalmist who filled himself with Biblical HOPE… “Put your hope in God…”  The all-knowing Sovereignty of God!

As my husband always says, “Wash Day is coming.” A day and time when ALL things will be revealed according to God’s plan and purpose…. And, by possessing such REALIST Biblical Hope,  we can rest in knowing, “That All Things Work Together for the Good of those who love the Lord and are called according to His plan and purpose. (Romans 8:28 paraphrased)….Ahh; already my soul if feeling uplifted! Amen…

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

