“Who Am I?”

“Who Am I?”

 For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the LORD 

Isaiah 55:8 KJV

I do not like when I become “anxious” and overly focused on a matter…It reveals a part of me that is NOT trusting in God…And, it upsets and disturbs my peace of mind and daily routine.  It also affects those closest to me, because they see my anxieties and worrisome concerns and don’t know how to help me; or fix it…

I have to pause and ask myself this question, “Who Am I” to not be acquainted with grief and pain?  Do I expect to be different, favored; without the cares and woes of life?  Face it; who doesn’t wish for a “controlled” life where everyone and everything is enjoyable, pleasurable, and without conflict or concern!  But, that is not life nor is it reality…

Not even Job himself falsely accused God of being unfair and unjust as he received devastating news after horrific news of catastrophic loses in his life; including the lives of his own sons and daughters…He remained steadfast, confident, and assured in God as he proclaimed, “God giveth and God taketh away.”   Amazing faith….Yet; one thing Job did do….He grieved….He grieved…And, he grieved…And, if anyone had the right to grieve, Job did…. But, what about us?  What levels of life truly constitute “grief?”

Doyou and I have the right to “grieve” when things simply don’t work out the way we had hoped, planned, or wished for?  When relationships fail, sicknesses strike, and gloom and doom seems to be the mindset of the day, do we set aside valuable time to grieve our losses; our disappointments…??

Can you imagine having the luxury to call into work and say to your boss or supervisor, “I’m sorry. Things aren’t going the way I’d like them to go in my life right now, so I am going to stay home today and grieve.”   Fact is, Job had reason to grieve…King David had reason to grieve….Countless numbers of people have valid reasons for grieving today….But, is not having our way in a matter a good enough reason to crawl into a mode of grief that disturbs our daily life and activities?  Probably not…

I suppose it depends upon the matter, circumstance, or situation…Is it “sane” to grieve over the loss of a promotion at work the same as it is to grieve over the loss of a friendship?  Who is to say what equates “grief” from what doesn’t?

We all have days and times and moments in our lives when we simply do NOT understand the outcome of certain matters within our lives…But, truth is….if our life is NOT over and tomorrow is still before us…who is to say that today’s outcome is the final outcome?  That, my friend, is called hope….Not neccessarily Biblical Hope, but hope none the less…

Biblical hope is having Faith that God will intervene, but He will intervene according to His plan and purpose which could be the exact opposite of what you are hoping to happen or receive…But, FAITH is having Faith that God’s ways and God’s thoughts are higher, wiser, and all-knowing; more than your own and accepting that in Faith, by Faith, and through Faith….It takes a lot of Faith to get through this life at times!

The Bible tells us over 345 times not to “fret,” “worry,” or possess “anxieties” over matters and situations…So, why do we?  “Who Am I” to instruct God how to run planet Earth?  I mean; after all…it does belong to Him!!! Thank goodness, the Book of James says, “If any man lack faith…let him ask of God…”  Well, I believe it’s safe to say that I’m not the only one living on planet Earth today who is in need of added faith within their life….”God, grant those who stand in need of added Faith today the faith and Grace sufficient for the hour.”  Amen…

Faith and Peace that passeth all understandings…Ahhh….sweet, sweet Spirit of Peace….Fill me and shower me  with thy Joy and Strength reminding me that you are in complete control….

Ahh…I don’t know about you, but I needed that…perhaps you do, too.  Perhaps you are in need of added “faith” today….Well, Relax, take in a good deep breath and breath out slowly…Let God calm your racing thoughts and concerns…Remember, God is GOD and his ways are not our ways; neither His thoughts our thoughts….Even though the Bible teaches that man born of woman is of few days and full of woes…it also teaches, “Yet; the LORD delivers us from each and every one….Fear not; for God is with you (and me!)… Amen…

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

