The Doorposts of Your House…

“You shall write them (God’s Law) on the doorposts of your house and your gates.” Deuteronomy 6:6-9

This morning, while scanning through my FB account, I saw where someone had posted a devotion from Christian author and speaker, Kay Arthur.  After reading it, I had some thoughts of my own that I would like to express.  First, I’m going to  paste the scripture used by Mrs. Arthur and her devotion..Then, I will write my blog response.  I hope you will enjoy both…

By Kay Arthur…
“These words, which I am commanding you today, shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up. You shall bind them as a sign on your hand and they shall be as frontals on your forehead. You shall write them on the doorposts of your house and on your gates.” – Deuteronomy 6:6–9…. One of the most important responsibilities of a leader is to train a successor. Christians are only one generation away from either being in the middle of God’s will or totally out of it. Each generation must be prepared to embrace their own personal relationship with God and to walk in obedience to His word. How are you investing in the next generation?
By Me….(Lin T Rollins)  I have written on this topic myself in the past, but I feel it is worth revisiting.  The Old Testament books of Kings and Chronicles record generation after generation of those who DID and DID NOT follow God’s ways and laws.  Studying through these books, one can conclude that it’s not Mom and Dad nor Grandma and Grandpa that decides how “YOU” will choose to live…
I have seen horrible choices and decisions made by children, teens, and adults alike who were carried to wonderful churches, sat under wonderful godly sermons; but, something went terribly wrong!  Sadly, our jails are NOT only filled with lost, dying sinners.
On the other hand, I have personally witnessed  those children and teens who were NOT taken to church, not exposed to God’s ways during their raising; yet after becoming an adult CHOSE God’s ways for their life…. It’s a matter of “personal” choice…
God is NOT only into SAVING (the act of salvation) those who walk the narrow way all of their lives…He also enjoys and LOVES to save those who were once on the broad road to destruction!  I taught for three years in a very highly at-risk middle school. The stories from some of my students were often tragic and very shocking to say the least.  I once had an eight-grade boy to sincerely ask me if I ever hid under my bed from drug dealers?  And, he was not kidding!  He lived in an apartment complex that was ridden with drug dealers.  I also had one student to get off his school bus and walk home only to discover that his mother and her boyfriend had moved out during the day without him and left NO word of her whereabouts…I’m talking some very sad stuff here….
Having a tender heart for so many of my students’ lives, I used to tell them that they were NOT responsible for the choices made by their parents or guardians…I would say things like, “It’s not your past that defines you, but your future!”  I had a motto in my classroom that I borrowed from NASA, “Failure is NOT an option.”  I didn’t want any of my students to fail or to make some of the same bad choices that their friends and families had made.   That’s exactly how GOD is with each one of us…”Failure is NOT an option” with God…God CANNOT fail!! And, God wants each of us to make the right choices and right decision through HIM.
Today, you may be from a family that NEVER misses a single church service.  That’s wonderful. You have a great foundational blessing in your life….Don’t take IT for granted…But, you can’t get to Heaven on your parents choices…You must make your own choice and decision as to how you are going to live…Then, you may be like I was growing up…My parents only attended church a few times in my life…I went to church with friends and neighbors most of the time.  But, after I grew up and became a mother myself, I wanted to know God better and to follow His teachings for my life…
Oh, I’m so glad that I did…I can truly testify that GOD has never made one mistake in my life…I have let Him down more times than I can count, but HE has never let me down, nor ever will HE.  It is my prayer that you will make the RIGHT choice…Remember, as I told my students, “It’s NOT your past that defines you, but your future!”
Remember, God Loves You!
Lin T. Rollins, Author
2 thoughts on “The Doorposts of Your House…

Leave a Reply

