You Do Have a Choice…

You Do Have a Choice…

“…Choose you this day whom ye will serve; but as far as me and my household we will serve the Lord.”

Joshua 24:15

This morning as I was pondering a rather unpleasant ongoing situation in my life, I thought to myself, “Well, I really don’t have a choice in the matter.”  No sooner than the words finished drifting through my thoughts…another concept flooded my mind with much more intensity and truth… “Yes, you do have a choice.”

Since I believe that one of the  works of the Holy Spirit is to lead, guide, direct, and instruct our lives in the Words of God, I knew that this more focused “thought” was from Him.  It wasn’t negative like my former reasonings, and it reminded me that I do have a choice in the matter…My choice?  Living each day allowing God to handle the matter instead of “me” trying to fix it!

Don’t kid yourself…leaving unpleasant, painful, and hurtful situations in God’s hands isn’t as easy as it perhaps sounds….It’s not as if we are just sitting idly by while “waiting” on God to “do” everything to make it all better!  No, it requires prayer, courage, strength, patience, hope, love, and faith on our part; ALL working together within our hearts and minds to give us PEACE in the matter….Seeking to discern God’s Spirit in a matter…and CHOOSING each day (sometimes minute by minute!) to have FAITH that God is working things out according to HIS plan and purpose involves and requires both constraint and restraint!  But, as Christians and through the presence and power of the Holy Spirit, we can do it!!!

So, we do have a choice in ALL things in life…whether we recognize it or not.  The Book of Hebrews, chapter eleven, spotlights several of God’s Hall of Faith Heroes from the Old Testament.  Each one looking for the “promised” Messiah to come in their life time with intense Hope and Faith…Yet; they all died in their FAITH having never witnessed His earthly ascension.  But, they NEVER gave up Hope!

Ask yourself this question, can you live day by day in faith should an unpleasant situation or circumstance never resolve itself in your life time? That’s exactly what I am asking myself this morning…What if the unpleasant situation “never” gets fixed in my life time?  I have a choice…And, I am choosing to trust in God for His purpose and plan….That’s my choice…I am not “helpless” nor “powerless” in the matter…I have made a definitive choice….I am CHOOSING to serve God and let Him take care of the matter…

Whew…I can already breathe better knowing that while I am “exercising” Faith…God is working in the matter!  Amen!

Today, like me, you may be facing a situation that requires lots of faith and trust on your part….Remember, you are making a choice when you “choose” to trust God!!  The Psalmist wrote, “TRUST IN GOD AT ALL TIMES, O PEOPLE; POUR OUT YOUR HEARTS UNTO HIM, FOR GOD IS OUR REFUGE.” Psalm 62:8

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

2 thoughts on “You Do Have a Choice…

  1. I do agree – we always have a choice. The only times when I have felt like I don’t have a choice is when the other option is so undesirable to me that I refuse to open my mind and consider it. Sometimes these options don’t turn out as bad as I thought once I take time and think them through. Great post!

  2. A very timely devotion. Something happened in our neighborhood that was very hurtful this week involving a much loved family pet. I had to make a choice – confront the family who allowed this to happen by their irresponsibility – or realize their soul means more to me than this beautiful animal I loved so much. I chose to continue to pray for them and forgive what had happened. To confront them wouldn’t have changed anything for the good – only the bad. So I know God helped me make the right choice. And I hope when we get to Heaven that we find God has an array of animals just as wonderful as the one we will always miss. And my prayer is that the neighbors we pray for will turn to God.

Leave a Reply

