“Bragging on God!”

“Bragging on God!”

“Because of HIS Strength will I wait upon God; for God is my Defense” (Psalm 59:9)

On this most peaceful and beautiful Sunday morning, I would like to take a few minutes to simply “brag” on God.  As with most mornings, I woke up, brushed my teeth, made the beds, straightened up a little from the night before, poured myself a hot, yummy cup of black coffee with just the right amount of white chocolate mocha, took a chewy granola bar from the canister, picked up my Bible, and walked out on my back porch to spend some time alone with God.

As I was reading my Bible, a particular verse of scripture came into my thoughts.  I wanted to read it within its context, so I flipped over to the concordance to find its exact location…Nothing…I couldn’t find one single clue word to help lead me to the verse…So, I said to myself, “Well, Lord, you know exactly where the scripture is, so I’ll just trust you to find it for me.”   Now, mind you, most Bibles containing both Old and New Testaments have around 1600 pages in them; give or take a little (I’m from the South you know!).  So, from the back of the book, I randomly flipped ONLY one time to page 698….And, you’ve got it!  Underlined at the bottom of the page was the exact verse that I was searching for!  Praise the Lord!

That’s the type of God I serve….See, there’s NOTHING too big or too small that my God cannot do!  We so often limit God to what He can do….He’s not just God of the BIG stuff, He’s also God of the little stuff as well.  I like when God “shows up” and “shows out” with the little stuff in my life…It lets me know that our relationship is personal; one on one.  Sort of like when a spouse or personal friend does an act of kindness that only you and he or she know about…Personal…Intimate…Custom-made

I enjoy asking God for specific things in my life…Like a parking space up closer to the store!  It doesn’t happen every time (I figure there are some times when God wants me to walk a little farther!), but when it does…I thank God for it…Some days, when I am aching and just not feeling very well, I will ask, “God, it sure would be nice to find a parking space closer to the front today…If it won’t take away from your honor and glory will you open up one for me?”  I can’t tell you the number of times after I’ve prayed this simple prayer that a shopper returns to their car and starts backing out from one of the front spaces!  You can call it coincident; I’ll call it a blessing from God!

God can be that way in our lives when we let Him….TRUST; TRUST; TRUST…He’s not too busy; and he’s just waiting for you to ask Him and to have the FAITH (Hebrews 11:1) that He will and can take care of it.  I’ve written before about the lost key in the sand…How it was going to cost my husband and me $75.00 upon our leaving the condo because we had lost the room key while at the beach…Knowing that nothing is too big or too small for my God, I prayed and asked God to “find” the key…And, He did!!…He lead me back to the beach, back to the place where we had spent the day, and back to the spot where the key was buried under inches of sand!  I will never forget the look on my husband’s face that day when I walked back into that condo with the KEY in my hand!!  Wow! My God can do it…To Him there’s nothing to it!!

Today, Trust in God and have Faith in God for both the bigger and the smaller things in life…He doesn’t mind one little bit…Actually, He’s looking forward to it!

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

