In the Valley…He Restoreth My Soul

In the Valley…He Restoreth My Soul

He restoreth my soul; he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for His name’s Sake…Though I walk in the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil…(Psalm 23:3-4)

These verses from one of the most famous Psalms of King David, Psalm 23, are often recited at funerals and times of great distress; when God’s people need God’s touch, deliverance, and assurance upon their lives.  It is a Psalm that declares promise, hope, and faith for the Christian…”Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me all the days of my life; and I will dwell in the house of the LORD forever.”  Amen.

When we are in a valley, it is difficult to see beyond our current location.  I know there is a beautiful valley that my family and I drive through on our way to North Carolina.  At one point while driving through this most charming small town you are completely surrounded by high, towering hills. There is no distant view on the horizon whatsoever; just totally engulfed by the tall hills of nature.

Sometimes, our Christian life takes on a “valley” experience when we cannot see beyond our situation and circumstance…Our distant horizon or future view is obstructed by the present cares and woes of life…We feel as if we are completely entrapped by the present.  These times call for Great and even Greater Faith….It is during these “valley” experiences that we must wait on the Hand of God to restore our soul…and bring about His strength into our hearts and lives.

Life’s numerous vallies come in many different sizes and shapes; death of a loved one, illnesses and diseases, scarcities, financial cares, rejection and betrayal, divorce, and/or loss of job or career…We all go through them at one point or time; no one is exempted.  But, for those of us who place our trust, hope, and faith in Jesus Christ…we have a promise that we do not walk through these “valley” experiences alone; God is with us to see us through to the other side.   I like that it says, “Walk through the valley.”  In other words, we have not come to stay or remain in the valley, we are just walking through!  Just Hold On My Child…For God is right beside you!

Today, you may be in a valley in your life…If so, take heart that the God of all Creation is walking right beside you all the way.  And, as He walks beside you He will restore your weary, troubled, burdened, and sad soul…He will anoint your head with fresh oil and bring a new strength into your life…How do I know?  Because He has done it for me so many times….And, like you, I do not deserve His great love and compassion, but He bestows His love and compassion upon my life as He see fits.

As King David stated, “surely goodness and mercy shall follow me…” Today, if you know Jesus as your personal Savior, you, too, can be assured that God’s goodness and mercy will not only “follow” you, but it will also lead you through the vallies of life as well.  For in the valley, He Restoreth My Soul…

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

 

Leave a Reply

