Digging Deeper

Digging Deeper…

God is our refuge (safe hiding place) and strength

Psalm 46:1

For the past several weeks, I have been deeply engaged and engulfed in studying God’s word and writing lessons for a 10-weeks Bible study for a group of wonderful ladies in my area.

I was very thankful when they called asking me to come and teach for them. Almost immediately, I sat down at my lap top with Bible in hand to seek out God’s guidance.  Within minutes, I felt the Lord had placed the foundational scripture for the study upon my heart, “The Joy of the Lord is Your Strength.” (Nehemiah 8:10).  Truly, one of my favorite verses.

Before I knew it, God had given me topics for the entire ten weeks. Next, it was my time to study and study deeper.  While studying for week-two’s lesson, I discovered some hidden truths in the Apostle Paul’s words of comfort to his blessed church in Philippi.  I don’t think I will ever be able to read the book of Philippians in the same manner again after “digging deeper” into the scriptures.

Scholars tend to differ which imprisonment Paul was when he wrote to Philippi, but I tend to support and agree that he was in Rome facing the last days of his life.  His words of encouragement to his beloved friends are a testimony of his great Faith in God and in God’s sovereignty at a time when he was facing death.

When we “dig deeper” into God’s words, the Bible, along with commentaries and other resources surrounding the Bible and the Good News of Jesus Christ, we can receive a much-needed and renewed sense of faith within our heart and spirit.  Nothing can compare to “digging deeper” into God’s word.

Today, you may be in need of strength to face a certain situation, circumstance; something that you were not prepared to deal with…If so, take time to meet with God in prayer and ask Him to show you what scriptures can be applied to your situation.  In today’s mass media world, God’s Words are as close as your finger tip.  Try to find time to read the Apostle Paul’s words found in the four chapters of Philippians.  What heart-felt words of encouragement for all types of situations and circumstances.

“Dig Deeper” in God’s word, for in it you will find strength and rest for your mind, soul, and body.

Remember, God Loves You

Lin T. Rollins, Author

One thought on “Digging Deeper

  1. Hi Lin! Thank you for sharing the exhortation for followers of Christ to dig deeper into God’s Word. It is something that every Christian, including me, has room to grow in. I share your love for the book of Philippians–it contains many of my favorite verses, such as Philippians 4:4-9. I hope that you will continue to share encouraging words from your heart for believers like me to be challenged by!

Leave a Reply

