A Whole New Day

A Whole New Day

“Boast not thyself of tomorrow; for thou knowest not what a day may bring forth.”

Proverbs 27:1 KJV

Good Lord willing and the creeks don’t rise….”  Have you ever heard that old saying before?  If you are from the South you  have!  As human beings we make plans.  Honestly, our modern-day society loves the idea of planning!  At times, it seems we are obsessed with planning out our lives…Plans for tomorrow.  Plans for the week.  Plans for the month.  Plans for the year.  Even, a five-year or ten-year plan.  We are all about making plans!

Yet, God warns us NOT to “boast” ourselves of tomorrow, because only God holds tomorrow and knows what lies ahead for each of us.    Mind you, I’m not saying that we should live an impromptu life-style bouncing here and there as circumstances dictate.  But, we need to be reasonable and know that the most well-made plans of a human can easily be disrupted and changed in a twinkling of an eye.  We sometimes call them “detours” or “roadblocks” within our lives.

Just let me say this.  If you don’t learn to “roll-with-the-flow” at times in your life…you are in for some heavy disappointments and sorrows!  No person’s plans are 100% right on target.  You’re lucky if they are 20% on target!!  As a matter of fact, most experts will tell you that “detours” and “roadblocks” to our own plans usually lead us to a more productive and prosperous path!  Detour anyone!?

There was a time in my life when I did NOT like change.  I liked things on schedule…in order… as expected…Well, my little “wants” and “wishes” certainly got interrupted and changed!  For years and years my life was nothing but rapidly moving change…from one “change” to another!  Switching directions…Switching gears…Switching mindsets…There were times when “things” (happenings and events) were so turbulent and knee-deep in “change” that I wasn’t sure if Tuesday still came after Monday!  If God showed me anything…He showed me to “expect” the “unexpected!”  During the process, He taught me NOT to be so afraid of “change.”  After all, it may have been “change” to me, but it was NOT a “change” in policy for HIM!  God knows the beginning from the ending, so there is no “unexpected” change for Him!

I had to learn that…just as so many others learn.  It’s all a part of building a “Greater Faith” in God….Now a days, I tend to smile when a new direction or change comes into my life…After all, I have learned that I am NOT the one sailing the ship;  God is!  He’s my Captain and He knows exactly where to sail and when to touch ground.

Today, you may be facing prior plans that are not working out as you had hoped, or you may be having your daily planner disrupted.  If so, take a deep breath, blow it out…and let God be your guide and the Captain of your Salvation… Let His leading bring PEACE into your heart…The best words of advice are these:  Make your plans the best that you know how…But, leave the end results in God’s hands.  He may have a different and even a better plan for you!

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

One thought on “A Whole New Day

Leave a Reply

