Rejection…

Rejection…

“He is despised and REJECTED of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief…”

(Isaiah 53:3 KJV)

Oh, my goodness. Sadly, I read this morning in the newlines where a murder recently took place in the United States because a person was “defriended” on Facebook.  If REJECTION or being defriended” is a sound, valid, and justifiable reason for murder… then, how many of us, including myself, would be acquitted on charges of murder due to rejection?!!  Mostly likely, every human being on planet earth!  Sadly, “rejection” in one form or another comes into every human’s life…I know it has come into my life through many different areas and ways.

As with many others, I have been personally rejected  by close and immediate family members, extended family members, school friends, neighbors, peers, employers, and even church family.   Right now, I have a teen-age grandchild who will not accept my request to be “friends” on Facebook!!….I guess if the new modern-day term for rejection is “defriended,” well believe me when I say that I have been “defriended!”  I suppose in modern-day society’s language Isaiah 53:3 could be written as, “He (meaning Jesus Christ) is despised and DEFRIENDED of men; a man of sorrows, and acquainted with grief…”

I have a close family member, that means a lot to me, who was given up by his unmarried mother when he was around the age of two. His tragic story of living in thirteen different homes and environments across the nation has always touched and broken my heart in one way or the other.   I applaud how through the Graces of God he has overcome his past and made a life for himself and his family….He is even the Senior Pastor of a church…However, there are those who have experienced other forms of rejection within their lives… Possibly not as traumatic or dramatic, but painful and scarring to them…

A person can be brought up in a home by their own biological parents and still feel the pains of being “rejected.”  Sadly, not every child “conceived” is wanted.  There can be circumstances surrounding a child’s conception that brings about a sense of shame to that child; at no fault of their own…just circumstances.  There are also children who are conceived and birthed into a family that causes financial hardship…That child may grow up feeling a form of rejection but never actually knowing why…Yet; on the other hand and  through God’s wonderful mercies,  there are children who are “conceived” and birthed under non-traditional circumstances who feel very muchy loved and wanted throughout their entire lives.  There is no “set” of rules for feeling or not feeling rejected in this life.

Schools can be a place that breed rejection.  For no apparent reason, a child can be “bullied” and shunned.  Or, a person can receive ridicule for their looks, size, and abilities or lack there of.  I know when I was in the fifth-grade my teeth were coming in badly “bucked.”  I was very self-conscience.  One day, around the time of Halloween, a group of mean-spirited boys got off of the school bus and went inside the store located at our bus stop.  They purchased these waxed “vampire” teeth.  As I was walking home, they came up running behind me yelling out my  name.  When I turned around, they each opened their mouths showing their “vampire” teeth and chanting, “Buck Teeth, Buck Teeth.”  I remember going home, throwing myself on my bed, and crying hot tears asking God to never let me “make fun” of another person’s looks.  “Rejected and Defriended!”  Since that time I have always maintained a tender heart in that area of my life.

Work places can also be a place to encounter rejection; especially if you are a Christian.  I once worked with a group of ladies who went out for “Happy Hour” every Wednesday afternoon.  I did not go along because of my personal beliefs towards not drinking.  Also, my husband was the pastor at his first church.  I wanted to set a good example.  Even though I worked very hard at my job and desperately tried to ignore their “whispers” and “rejection,” the time finally came when I had to leave that particular place of employment.  “Rejection” and “Defriended.”  Then….to be honest, I don’t even want to go into the countless number of times I have been “rejected” and “defriended” by church members where my husband has served as the pastor.  Heart-wrenching “rejection!”

You may ask youself…What on earth has this lady done to bring about all of this “rejection” in her life?  Don’t worry…I have asked myself that question a trillion times!  Even though I am far, far from being perfect, I do love the Lord, I love my family, and, I even loved those with whom I have worked and served.  Nevertheless, it is only through sustaining Faith in God and His Grace and Mercy, I have not once thought of or attempted to “murder” someone because they either rejected or defriended me….Why?  Because, I am daily reminded that according to the Bible,  my Lord was “rejected” and “defriended,” and He certainly didn’t do anything whatsoever to be “rejected!”  HE actually came to planet Earth in LOVE and Willingness…. and through Him and His blood shed on the Cross at Calvary both you and I can have everlasting Love, Peace and Fellowship with God the Father, God the Son, and God the Holy Ghost…  From that Biblical perspective, I suppose being “rejected” here on Earth can be considered an honor….A most humbling honor.

Having a personal relationship with Christ Jesus will NOT make you immune from being “rejected” or “defriended.”  It might even make you a more likely candidate to be rejected!….But, through Faith in Jesus Christ’s death on the Cross, burial, and resurrection, you will never hear God say, “Depart from me I never knew you.”  You won’t experience an eternal “rejection” when you ask Christ Jesus to come into your heart.

Yes; close friends and acquaintances will let you down and reject you….Family will let you down…Mankind will let you down and reject you.  All people from ALL different walks of life can and often will hurt you, reject you, and “defriend” you…But, God’s Son Jesus Christ never will.  Thereforth….Put your faith and HOPE in HIM.

Today, place your faith and trust in Jesus….Then, when you are “rejected” and “defriended” by others you will find the much-needed grace, strength, and courage to go on…

Remember, GOD LOVES YOU and HE WILL NEVER REJECT of “Defriend” YOU…The Bible says that Jesus is a “Friend” who will stick closer than a brother…Amen.

Lin T. Rollins, Author

One thought on “Rejection…

  1. Amen!!! I know for me this really hits home… Because I serve the Lord, I’ve been rejected by many of my family and friends. I also just recently experienced (for the first time) rejection by some ladies in my own church family. OUCH!!! But I’m glad I know, however, that God loves me and will never reject me!!! I know I have to respond in love to all who reject me. Christ is only glorified when I act like Him… I must be sure to not act like the world or like my flesh would direct me. We as believers, have a responsibility to walk in the Spirit and live a Christlike life 🙂 Praise God that He sent His Son Jesus Christ to be rejected so that I will not be!!!

    Thanks Linda for the encouragement!

Leave a Reply

