“Not Every One…”

“Not every one that saith unto me (Jesus), Lord, Lord, shall enter into the kingdom of Heaven; but he that doeth the will of my Father which is in heaven.” (Matthew 7:21 KJV)

These are probably some of the saddest and most frightening words written in the New Testament.  “Not every one….”  The Bible teaches that we are to be “doers” of the Word and NOT “hearers” only.  Without authentic repentance and obedience, salvation cannot exist.  And, the only way that a person can come unto Jesus Christ for salvation is to confess their sins (their own ways) and follow the Lord’s (become a “doer”).

I have often said that it’s not so much that we “know” the Lord, but that He knows us!  For example, I “know” that Mr. Obama is the current President of the United States of America.  When I see his face on television, I recognize him; or know him.  But, my dear friend, Mr. Obama does NOT know me!  People can say that they “know” Jesus Christ, but for Jesus Christ to know them there must be a personal relationship.  Without a personal relationship with Jesus Christ, a person will one day sadly hear the words, “I (Jesus) NEVER KNEW YOU; depart from me, ye that work iniquity (your own will and way).”  (Matthew 7:23 KJV)

Salvation is not your knowing a priest, preacher, pastor, or denomination.  It’s KNOWING the Son of God and most importantly Him knowing you!  And, when you KNOW someone and walk with that someone they have a powerful influence upon your life.  This is the same way that it is when you “walk” with Jesus.  You no longer walk alone, but you walk together with Him through ALL of life’s storms, trials, joys, and triumphs. You fellowship one with another.  You read his Word; you fellowship with His people.  You are a part of the Family of God….

Oh, how I wish that “everyone” who calls out the name, “Lord, Lord” would be saved, but that is NOT what the Scriptures teach.  Sadly, Many only USE his name for earthly gain and influences…”Many will say to me in that day (Day of Judgment) “Lord, Lord, have we not prophesied in thy name? and in thy name have cast out devils? and in thy name done many wonderful works?”  (Matthew 7:22 KJV).  Yet, Jesus replies, “Depart from me I NEVER KNEW YOU.” 

My friend, this morning, today, ask yourself this most important question, “Does Jesus Christ KNOW YOU?”  Does He see HIMSELF in you?  Does HE recognize who you are by doing the will of His Heavenly Father, God?  I pray so.  If not, ask Jesus to come into your life so that He will KNOW you….Not that you only know who He is…But, that He may KNOW you.

“I am the Vine (Jesus), ye are the branches (Those who are truly His):  He that ABIDETH in me, and I IN HIM, the same bringeth forth much fruit (manifested works of Faith in the Lord): for WITHOUT ME (JESUS) Ye can do nothing.” (John 15:5 KJV).

Scriptures regarding Salvation can be found in the Book of Romans (Chapter 10).

Remember, Jesus Christ (God manifested in the flesh John 1:14) Loves You.

Lin T. Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

