“Prayers for All…”

Prayers for All…

1I exhort therefore, that, first of all, supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks, be made for all men; (I Timothy 2:1 KJV)

Mmm…have you ever wondered or thought about the fact that there are some people in the world who may not have one single person to lift up their name or cause before the Lord?  People such as the homeless, widowed, orphaned, those gone astray, isolated from others, confined, or simply all alone.  There is no doubt countless numbers of people who never have opportunity to interact with others on a daily or regular basis.  They don’t have the privilege of saying or asking someone else, “Will you pray for me?”

Sometimes, I fear that those of us who are “churched” and have friends and loved ones around us who pray for us on a daily or regular basis may not realize how truly fortunate we are.  Yet; the Apostle Paul strongly urged that supplications, prayers, intercessions, and giving of thanks be made for ALL men.”  Not just a few.

The thought of praying for ALL men everywhere is almost overwhelming.  I mean, for some of us, by the time we finish reading off the names on our prayer lists and making petitions for their needs and our own, how are we going to find the time to pray for ALL men everywhere!  I feel the Lord dealt with me this morning about this.  I felt the Lord spoke in my spirit, “There are so many people who never get prayed for.”  This greatly saddened me.  Wow!  Where do we start; and how?

The Apostle Paul states that Prayer pleases God our Savior, who wants ALL men to be saved.  While studying this, I imagined a poor widowed lady living in a remote area with the barest of surroundings. No children, no loved ones left alive, no close friends, no one to visit…all alone.  Who is lifting up her name and her petitions to the Lord?  Even though she is “nameless” to me, is it my responsiblity to pray for her?  Yes; I believe it is.

It is my duty as a believer, as well as your duty as a believer,  to pray for ALL men.  I don’t necessarily have to call them by name one by one, but I can pray in faith something like this, “Heavenly Father, according to thy scriptures, intercessory prayers and supplications should be made for all men; everywhere.  Today, I lift up your earthly children, old and young, rich and poor, kings and common, regardless of race or nationality to thy throne. I pray for their needs to be met through Jesus Christ.  Needs for salvation, hunger or sickness, and financial provisions through thy bountiful resources.  I thank you for hearing my prayer of faith for all men everywhere.  In Jesus’ name I pray.  Amen.” 

Will it help?  By faith, I pray that it will.  Just think…what if every Christian everywhere in the world stopped and took the time to pray this simple prayer for ALL men?  Millions of prayers arriving in Heaven for all men!  Exponential Growth!!  Today, as I pray for those I know best, I am going to also pray for those whom I don’t know at all….After all, there is a promise given for those who pray:

“I urge, then, first of all, that requests, prayers, intercessions and thanksgiving be made for everyone (ALL!)—for kings and all those in authority, that we may live PEACEFUL and QUIET lives in all godliness and holiness.”

 Maybe, just maybe, we would all live more peaceful lives if we learn to pray for everyone! (I Timothy 2:1-8).

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

http://seg.sharethis.com/getSegment.php?purl=http%3A%2F%2Fbreakawaybylintrollins.wordpress.com%2Fwp-admin%2Fpost-new.php%3Fpost_type%3Dpost&jsref=&rnd=1327508034065

Leave a Reply

