The Acronym ASK

The Acronym A.S.K.

“Ask and it will be given to you; Seek and you will find; Knock and the door will be opened to you.” (Matthew 7:7 NIV)

God makes some things so simple.  One of the most important verses found in the Bible can be easily remembered by using a simple acronym for its meaning:  ASK….Ask, Seek, Knock.

Ask whom? God….Seek whom?  God….Knock on whose door?  God’s… 

 Have you ever considered that most relationships typically start or begin with a question?  Examples:  “Hi, I’m so and so; what is your name?”  Or, “Do you like Mexican food?”  Or, “Would you like to grab a bite to eat after work?”  Or, “Would you like to go to the movies with me?”  Or, “Are you seeing anyone?”   Usually, somewhere at the beginning of a beautiful friendship or relationship some questions are asked. By asking questions we show our interest in the other person; who they are.  By asking questions we get to know the other person better.

The same is true with God.  We ASK God to enter into a covenant relationship with us.  Then, we SEEK to know Him better.  Then, we Knock on His heart’s door to reveal to us His will for our lives.

I recall the beginning of my relationship with my husband. I had just entered my senior year in high school when a friend walked up to me while I was at my locker and commented, “Do you know Richard Rollins?” My response was, “No, who is he?” After describing him to me my friend asked, “Can I give him your telephone number?” I granted permission.  About a day or two later he called me.  Our initial conversation included several question including,  “Would you like to go out with me this Friday night?”  Without “asking” me out, our friendship and relationship would have never developed.  Without “asking” God to come into our lives…we will never have a friendship or spiritual relationship with Him!

By Faith, I “Asked” the Lord to come into my heart when I was around twelve years old.  Since that time, I have been “Seeking” Him, getting to know Him better and better, by reading His book, The Bible.  After “asking” Him to come into my life, seeking Him through cooperate and private Bible study, Worship, and Praise, I have learned to Knock on Heaven’s door for God to open up and reveal His will and way for my life.

When searching out the many meanings of life…I highly recommend to FIRST ASK GOD; the creator of life.  Then, I highly encourage you to “SEEK” the scriptures to get to know God better and to discover His will for mankind, then I earnestly urge you to “KNOCK” on Heaven’s door to open and reveal to you God’s will for your life.  Who is the door?  What door do you knock upon?  How do we knock on God’s door?

The Bible plainly teaches that Jesus Christ is the Door and that NO man comes unto the Father (God) except through His Son, Jesus (John 3:16).   There is no other way!  Jesus said, “I am the door; if anyone enters through Me, he will be saved (John 10:9).  Jesus also said, ‘I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father but through Me.” John 14:6

By first believing in God, seeking the scriptures, and knocking on God’s door through faith in His Son, Jesus, we can and will find eternal life for our souls.  Oh, my friend won’t you ASK God today to save you, enter into a covenant relationship with Him, and make Jesus Christ your personal Door to Salvation?  It’s as simple as ASKING! “Ask and it will be given to you; Seek and you will find; Knock and the door will be opened to you.”   ASK!

Remember, God Loves You.

Lin T. Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

