“He’s Still Working On Me”

This Christmas season as always I know that He’s Still Working On Me… As the songs goes, “It took him just a week to make the moon and the stars, the sun and the earth, and Jupiter and Mars…how loving and patient He must be…He’s Still Working on Me.”

When I was a younger Christian I used to think that I would just “arrive” one day and be all the things a “Christian” is supposed to beLoving, Kind, Giving, Forgiving, Patient, Filled with unwavering Joy, Hope, Happiness,and Goodness.  WRONG!!

What I have learned after being a Christian since I was eleven-years-old (forty-five years ago) is that I need Jesus EVERYDAY and that I will NEVER be any of these things within my own strength or within myself.  I must always “lean” on Him.  I have learned that I am a “sinner” saved by His Grace and I must rely on Him and obey Him in order to Walk in His Light!  It’s not a one-step programIt’s a life-long, leaning-on-him, learning journey.

Jesus’ earthly journey to save me (and the entire world) began over two-thousand years ago in a lowly stable in Bethlehem of Judea (Mark 2:1-52)  His earthly journey ended after his agonizing death on the Cross, and His triumphant Resurrection from the tomb, and His amazing ascension into Heaven as the men of Galilee stood looking stedfastly toward Heaven (Acts 1: 9-10).  Amen.  His miraculous earthly journey makes my earthly journey of Faith possible!  Yes…I believe.

Yet, a Christian’s journey doesn’t just stop at believing.  It continues in our growing in the Faith, Wisdom, and Knowledge of our Lord and Savior.  And, as I stated before…it’s not a one-step program.  We learn daily in His Word, the Bible.

There are days and times when I am filled with His power and strength to leap giant obstacles and soar over the valleys of my life.  Yet, there are times when I am hard-pressed lying prostrate in prayer begging for His strength to carry on.  God never wants any of us to reach a place within our lives where we “feel” or “believe” that we can make it on our own…as if we have arrived!  No, my friend…it doesn’t work that way!

Our journey of Faith will not cease until we have reached Heaven’s shore…our eternal abode.  So, I am very thankful this Christmas season that He is still working on me…to make me what He wants me to be!  I especially like the part where the songs says, “Don’t judge me yet there’s an unfinished part.”

Oh, my friend…I have several “unfinished” parts today…and I know you do, too.  We all do.  But, one day, as believers in Jesus Christ, we will be completed, finished, and made perfectly whole. What a Day that Will Be!  Until then, my heart goes on singing!

Until that glorious morn’ arrives…I know by His Faith that He’s still Working On Me!”

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

2 thoughts on ““He’s Still Working On Me”

  1. Great post and a wonderful word of encouragement for this time of the year. He is still working on me as well…

    Philippians 1:6 NET For I am sure of this very thing, that the one who began a good work in you will perfect it until the day of Christ Jesus.

Leave a Reply

