The Lord Gave…And,

The Lord Gave…And the Lord has taken away. (Job 1:21 KJV).

Many times you will hear people reference to this verse as saying, “The Lord Giveth and The Lord Taketh Away.”  Even though the concepts may be the same; the actual meaning behind the words are not.  The Lord never gives anything or anyone to us so that he can one day take it away from us.  There is purpose and plan with our Lord.

The Bible also says, “To Whom Much is Given…Much is Required.”  The Old Testament Saint, Job, was given much and he also loss much.  Yet, in the end he not only regained what he had loss, but all that he had before he suffered loss was doubled including the number of children he fathered!  Oh, the mysteries of our God.

We have all experienced losses within our lives; we have all suffered through them.  Some losses, discouragements, and disappointments are life-changing; life-shattering.  We may never fully recover from them while here on this Earth.  Others bring temporary discomfort or temporary loss of joy within our hearts.

How do we deal with such happenings within our lives?  The life-changing losses and happenings are hard to speak of.  They hurt deeply into the body where the bone and marrow meet.  For these times, I trust and lean on the Holy Spirit to foster and to comfort this type of pain, hurt, grief, and loss. Only HE is the comforter in such matters.  After the Holy Spirit comforts our hearts, only then can we approach God with a thankful and submitting conscience.

Yet, for the lesser life-changing disappointments, I have found a method that works well for me.  It still takes the work of the Holy Spirit to lead, guide, and comfort, but after the initial shock and hurt has hit me, and I have had some time to process the matter,  I practice what the Bible clearly teaches in Psalm 100:4, “Enter into His Gates with thanksgiving, and into his Courts with praise; be thankful unto him, and bless his name. For the LORD is Good; his mercy is everlasting; and his truth endureth to ALL generation.”  Followed by I Thessalonians 5:18, “In every thing give thanks; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.”

This morning, I entered into my prayer closet sad, discouraged, and disappointed.  Yes, another disappointment in life. We have all experienced them; we have all suffered through them.  Plainly stated…they hurt!  I hate the kind where I cannot breathe for the emotional pain is so harsh.  When I feel rejected in a matter it’s like the pit of my stomach is trying to attack the rest of my body! Sadly, like many of you, I have had my share of this type of disappointment and discouragement.

This morning, as I labored through telling God how much I was emotionally hurting,  a voice seemed to say within my thoughts, “The Lord Gives and the Lord Takes Away.”  In other words, some blessings God gives to us remain longer than others.  Suddenly, I was calm and not filled with despair.  Loss is a natural part of life.  We try to hold on to things way too much. We become emotional “pack-rats” so to speak.  It’s hard to “let go” of people and things we love.  We want those we love to always be with us surrounding us with their love and presence.  It makes us happy!

But, there comes a time when we must surrender and realize that GOD is ALL we need.  And, this realization won’t just happen one time in our life and that’s it…like riding a bicycle.  No, we have to learn and relearn it every time we are faced with circumstances and situations that bring us hurt, sorrow, and emotional pain into our heart and lives.

The Lord Gives and Takes Away temporal things….even those we love the most here on earth.  But, eternal things He gives to us forever and forever and forever. There will never be sorrow in eternity with God.  Remember, God not only gave back to Job what he had loss…He gave him doubled! I feel this is somewhat a picture of how it will be in Heaven…every blessing in life down here will be doubled up there!

My friend, this holiday season you may be facing disappointments and earthly losses as well.  But, enter into His gates with thanksgiving and into His courts with Praise. In all things (good and bad) give thanks…for this is the will of God through Christ Jesus.

We don’t need to be “pack-rats” holding onto things that we have no control.  As the old adage says, “Let Go and Let God.”  I know this is what I must do in my own life as well.  Even though I have learned this for today…I know that I will need to relearn it down the road…God is All I Need!  All I Need….All I ever need.

Is He all you need today?  I pray so.

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

One thought on “The Lord Gave…And,

  1. I want to personally say “thank you” to those who have chosen to follow my posts. I am very humbled and grateful. It is my prayer that God will somehow use my daily writings as a source of encouragement to you. May your lives be filled with many Chritmas blessings this year. Merry Christmas.

Leave a Reply

