“A Month of Thanksgiving” Part Ten

A Month of Thanksgiving – Part Ten

Come unto me all you who are burdened and heavy laden (weary, concerned, fearful, worried, and burdened down), and I (The Lord) will GIVE you Rest. Take my yoke upon you and learn of (from) me; for I am meek (gentle) and lowly (humbled) in Spirit (heart), and ye shall find REST for your souls. For my yoke is easy and my burden light. (Matthew 11:28 NIV)

 “In today’s continued series on being “Thankful,” I want to thank God for the GIFT of REST.  Let me ask you a question.  Has anyone ever walked up to you holding a package and said, “Here, I have a gift for you.”  You graciously accepted the gift and when you opened the package you found inside a “gift card” for REST!!  Most likely the answer is No.  But, that is exactly what God is saying in this Scripture found in the Book of Matthew, chapter eleven, verse twenty-eight.  Notice, He says…”I will GIVE you REST.”

Have you ever thought about REST being a gift from God?  I believe we accept this precious Gift in the same way as we accept the Gift of Salvation…By Faith and Through Faith!  But notice the first word in the passage, “Come.”  The term Come is an action verb requiring movement on our part.  It usually refers to moving “forward.” In other words, we have to walk (not by sight) but by Faith towards Jesus in order to receive this most needful gift of Rest for our busy minds and bodies and weary souls.

This morning, I can think of so many people who are in need of rest; including myself.  I am not talking about just a physical rest that we can obtain through a good night’s sleep.  I am referring to a substantial “mind” and “soul” rest from all of life’s worries, anxieties, and concerns.  I have often said that mental stress can make a person feel more tired than any type of physical stress!  When the mind gets tired, it slows down the body’s entire system; even the immune system.  This is why “stress” is the leading cause of so many diseases and fatigues we face in our modern-day and time.

But, we have a cure and the answer….”Come unto Jesus” and receive the gift of Rest.  Notice Jesus also says, “I am gentle and humble in heart.”  In other words He is NOT going to say, “I don’t have time for you today; come back another time!”  He’s NOT going to say, “With all the bad things you’ve done in your life…you should be worried!”  NO…NO…NO….Jesus is our most loving Heavenly Father and Eternal Friend who always has time for our needs and is always willing to GIVE us His blessings and Rest when we Come unto Him.

Aren’t you glad for a Personal Savior today who is willing to Give you Rest from all of your worries, anxieties, fears, and concerns? Won’t you come unto Him today…and Let Jesus Give you Rest?  I know I am.  I have already “Come” unto Him this morning in Prayer for the day.  Amen.

“Hear the Blessed Savior calling the oppress, come ye weary laden, come to me and Rest…Come no longer tarry I your load will bear…bring me every burden, bring me every care…Come unto me…I will give you rest…Take my yoke upon you…Hear me and be blessed…I am meek and lowly…Come and trust my might….Come, my yoke is easy…and my burden’s Light!”  (Come Unto Me – Redback Hymnal Page 44).

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

