Month of “Thanksgiving” Part Nine

Before continuing with this month’s theme, “A Month of Thanksgiving,” I want to take a minute to reflect upon the things I have already listed.

 I started out this month by being thankful for the Word of God, my Bible.  Oh, how precious is God’s word.  In Part Two, I wrote about the many essentials in life that we sometimes take for granted such as blessed water.

Part Three, I reflected upon being thankful for music and song.  Oh, how our lives are enriched with the gift of music.  In Part Four,  I reflected upon my personal thankfulness for my Christian husband; my friend.

In Part Five,  I once again reflected about God’s Word being the Good News of the Gospel. (I guess you can tell that I am thankful for the Bible!)  In Part Six, I wrote about being thankful for the wonderful miracles God has bestowed upon my personal health.  I am truly blessed.

Part Seven reflected upon being thankful for Jesus Christ, the Same Yesterday, Today, and Forever.  We need lasting, “forever” promises within our lives!

Part Eight dealt with being thankful for Time….The precious healer of all things.

In Part Nine, I want to write about being thankful for a roof over my head and food to eat.  Last week, while driving along the expressway, I noticed two tents set up in the woods just off the exit ramp.  At first, the site seemed strange to me.  Why would people be camping alongside the expressway?  Then, I realized that they were not “camping,”…..they were actually living there in make-shift tents, canopies, and whatever belongings they possessed.  What a sad, visible reminder of the difficult economical times we are living.

The site reminded me of an experience my husband and I had many years ago.  As we were exiting a nice restaurant after enjoying a pleasant meal together, we noticed a man dressed in ragged clothing searching through a dumpster.  Then, I nearly wanted to throw-up when he pulled out food and began to eat it.  I was so overtaken by his actions that I could hardly breathe!  My husband walked over and gave him some money.  Whether or not the homeless man used the money to buy “new” food, I cannot say.  But, the image of that evening has never left my mind after all of these years.

This morning, as I sit in my lovely warm home typing on my lap-top, I am fully aware that there is a huge population of people all over the planet hungry and in need of shelter.  It’s not the size or style of the home…it’s that we are blessed to have a home!  It’s not the money we spend on fine food….it’s that we simply have food!

How can I NOT want to drop to my knees and thank my God for his undeserving blessings of food and shelter upon my life.  It reminds me of a song that the choir sung at one of our former churches:

“There’s a roof up above me, I’ve a good place to sleep. There’s food on my table and shoes on my feet. You’ve gave me your love Lord and a fine family.  Thank you Lord for your blessings on me.”  (Song Title” Thank You Lord).

Let us all give thanks unto God for his bountiful blessings.  Amen.

Remember God Loves you!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

