A Month of Thanksgiving Part Five

A Month of Thanksgiving – Part Five

This month’s blogs are dedicated to the theme of “Thanksgiving.”  Oh, how much we all have to be thankful for!  Truthfully, it would take all of the paper ever produced in the world,  along with all of the ink ever manufactured, to simply scratch the surface of all the blessings bestowed upon us from God through His precious Son, Jesus Christ.

I know there are times when sadness, pain, loss, grief, and heartaches come into our lives and  bring us to our knees…yet; even during those seasons of heaviness…our hearts can still soar in the truth of the Gospel; the Good News of Christ.

A few minutes ago, I was looking at some pictures posted on Facebook of my grandchildren.  I started reflecting upon how thankful I am for my three daughters and nine grandchildren.  I can’t begin to express the uttermost joy and love in my heart for my family.   If you are a loving parent or grandparent you know exactly what I am talking about.  Looking at pictures of our children and grandchildren as well as spending precious, quality time with them gives you a sense that the world is a wonderful place even in the midst of trials, conflicts, and uncertainties.  Plus…It’s as if God has placed His special stamp of approval on grandkids!

Like so many of you, I watch my grandchildren rapidly growing up.  It seems they grow-up even faster than their parents did!  One grandson has already graduated high school and is working out-of-town.  Three others are in high school.  Three are in middle school.  One grandson is in elementary, and our newest granddaughter is already seven months old!  It won’t be long until she will be walking and running about just like the others!  As with so many of you, I am truly a very blessed woman.

Nevertheless, some parents choose to invest their time and monies into all sorts of recreations, activities, or personal interests….But, none will ever give you the deeper satisfaction and pleasures of the heart more than spending time with and being close to your children and their children; and even their children!  (Four and Five generations!)  When it comes time to die and cross over to the other side, I have never seen a funeral home or church filled with race cars, campers, RV’s, golf-clubs, hunting equipment, boats, motorcycles, jewelry, or other materialistic items sitting on the pews to pay their last respect to the deceased!  What I have seen though are family members….either grieving children or adult children lined up, sitting close by one another, and comforting one another over their loss.  I firmly believe that since it’s going to be my children and grandchildren who will be there for me in the end….why not devote myself or place emphasis on them more than on materialistic items??!!  But, not all parents feel the same way…I just don’t get some people…And, I never will!

Some parents choose to spend their days and nights devoted to materialistic things that won’t do them  a bit of good when they come down to their time of departure from this life.  Sadly, I know some parents and grandparents who have chosen this path for their lives.  Like I have heard many times, a dying person typically does not say, “Oh, how I wish I had spent more time on the golf[course.”  Or  , “Oh, how I wish I had spent more time traveling.”  Or,  “Oh, how I wish I had spent more time working for my employer.”  Sadly, I have heard them say, “Oh, how I wish I had spent more time with my family.”    There is a true sense of loss in the end when a person has dedicated themselves to things in this life that will one day fade away.  There is only one thing that we can take to Heaven with us….Our precious family.

It’s sad when some parents cannot see the true value of their own off-spring!  Children are a gift from God…Yet; some people would rather spend time with newly acquired associates or  an endless parade of passing acquaintances than invest their time and attention into the lives of their own off-spring!  Sad; but it is their choice and their loss.

Today, I am very thankful for my children and their children…and for every minute and second that I have to spend time with them while here on Earth.  As Dr. Jerry Vines recently preached at my church, “Come Before Winter.”  Winter is a season that often times symbolizes death from this life.  Sadly, too many people are not going to wake-up in time before their “winter” is quickly upon them.  I don’t want that.  I choose to spend my whole life, time, and attention investing in the ones that I will spend all of eternity with in Glory….my children…and their children.  Yes, I know that I will have other family members in Heaven along with me, as well as many wonderful friends….But I will so rejoice when I see my children and their children bow down before the King of Kings and the Lord of Lords….Why?  Because they are my blessed off-spring…my children!  I hope you will join me today in being thankful for our children…,All precious gifts from God.  Amen.

Prayer:  “Thank you sweet Jesus for my children and grandchildren. My, how you have so richly blessed my husband’s and my life with such wonderful off-spring.  What have we ever done to receive even one blessing from your Hands?  But, Oh, Lord, in your love and mercies you have blessed us beyond compare and beyond measure.  Praise Your Holy Name.  And, today…like so many other mothers and fathers, grandmothers and grandfathers across this planet who love their children…I am thankful and grateful for my children’s lives and the many joys they have bestowed upon me.   Let me never, never take for granted what You have done for me.  Amen.”

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

