A Month of Thanksgiving Part Four

A Month of Thanksgiving

Today, I want to write about being thankful for my spouse; my husband.  Yes; I know that there are those who feel very lead of God to remain single, and they feel very fulfilled in doing so.  Nevertheless, I was the type of little girl who loved to play dress-up and many times this included dressing up as a soon-to-be wedding bride.

 As with most little girls back in the early 60’s pretending to be a bride, I used bath towels, pillow cases, my mother’s long robes, or even linen table cloths to tie over my head as a veil.  For some reason, the veil was always the most significant part of the outfit!  Then, I would ceremoniously stroll down the sidewalk while  holding a hand-full of pulled-up wild flowers from the yard to marry either  my teddy-bear, stuffed panda bear, or any other stuffed animal suitable for the occasion!  All of the other stuffed animals and dolls from my bedroom were the honored guests!

After the make-believe ceremony, I would delight myself to a cup of magical tea and freshly made mud-pies served on my finest play tea-set. (Sometimes, I would even sneak out my tiny china tea-set!)  Actually, I was an only child whose wildly strong and vivid imagination was often times my only playmate.  So, I learned to use it well!

When I was finally old enough to start dating, around the age of fifteen, I loved getting dressed-up for my dates.  I’m pretty sure you ladies know exactly what I mean.  Hair perfectly in place; eye-liner lightly applied, light-colored lip-stick, and freshly pressed clothing.  Ready to go.

To me, every boy that I dated was a potential candidate for marriage.  My mother used to actually scold me about my being so picky and choosy.  But, I heard a preacher once say, “Date only people whom you may wish to marry one day.”  Of course, my being too picky and choosy meant a lot of Friday and Saturday nights at home alone after the ball games, but it served me well in the long run. When I look back, I dated some very nice, polite, and well-respected young men until God sent me the one he had chosen to be my husband.

I had just started into my senior year in high school when I was approached by a class mate asking permission to give my home telephone number to a friend of his who wanted to date me.  Mind you, I had never met the guy nor did I know at the time that he was five years older than me.  But, my friend assured me that he was a “good guy,” and we would be going with a group to Underground Atlanta; a place I was dying to go!   So, I agreed.  That night,my future husband telephoned and asked me out for our first date.

Here’s the neat part.  Even though I had not officially met my future husband, he had seen me on several occasions at ball games where I was a cheerleader.  At one of the ball games, he told a friend that he was going to marry the “cheerleader standing on the end.”  Being one of the shorter cheerleaders, I cheered on the end; as the taller ones were in the middle of the line.   My future husband and I dated for four months before he asked me to marry him.  He gave me an engagement ring on Christmas day of my senior year in high school.

The following July, we were married….And, that’s been thirty-seven years ago.  Now, mind you, if two people have ever gotten into heated arguments…we have!  We’ve seen some wonderful times, and we have seen some very heart-breaking times.  But, we have seen them all together; as man and wife.  Like so many people sadly do, we could have walked away from one another during the more difficult times; especially when we had such difference of opinions regarding certain matters.  But, thanks be unto my Lord…we didn’t.  We have argued, went to bed upset, woke-up the next morning still arguing until the situation either resolved itself…or we both just got too tired to mess with it anymore!  At some point, usually one or the other of us would say….”Ok, I’m sorry.”  Nothing overly eventful or life-shattering when we made-up…..Just three simple words….”I am sorry.”  Sometimes shortened to just, “Sorry.”   Typically, followed by, “You know I love you.”  End of story…The End….move on!

You might ask what does a pastor and his wife argue about?!!  Believe me, when your husband is in the ministry you have a plethora of things that can ignite a disagreement or an argument!  Even the best saint- of- saints (if you know one!) can become overly burdened and short-tempered when dealing with so many different situations, varieties of people, and un-expectant circumstances. Then, like with all married couples…there’s the typical day-to-day pressures, trials, at-home and work-related duties, and the overwhelming responsibilities of rearing children!   Believe me, the pressures of life with the added pressures of the ministry can nearly kill you!  But, God’s GRACE is always sufficient! And, you quickly learn to stay-on-your-knees in prayer for both your family, church family, and your own, personal sanity!  Amen…

So, today, I am very thankful and grateful for a man who has loved me ever since he first saw me as a spirited teenager jumping up and down on the sideline or court cheering my team’s players towards victory (or defeat!).   In the Bible, God clearly states, “It is not good for the man to be alone…I will make for him a helpmeet (helper).” Genesis 1:18 NIV…

Oh yes; I am thankful to be married to a man who has been faithful to God, his children, and to me.  I am very humbled and grateful to be his “helpmeet;” helper.  He’s not perfect; by no means….But, he’s my husband and I am very proud of him and his many accomplishments in life and in the ministry….And, as a loving husband, friend, provider, father, and grandfather.

Today, my husband is a confident, conservative, and handsome sixty-year-old man…But, I can still close my eyes and see him as he was in the early 70’s with his long curly black hair, mustache, bell-bottomed plaid pants, long collared nylon shirt, and platform black-leathered dress boots!  Thank goodness the style and look of the 70’s is gone!  (Even though it’s sneaking back into our society! Ouch!).  But, the “cool-dressing” young man of the 70’s is now the matured, well-dressed, well-groomed, suited-up man of my dreams…My husband… For whom I am very thankful!

Today, you might want to make a list  of all the things you are thankful for with your own husband….time flies faster than we think…and way too often we take such blessings for granted…After I publish today’s blog…I think I’ll call my husband just to say, “Hey Hon, just calling to say I love you.”

Remember, God Loves you!

Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

