Month of Thanksgiving Part 3

A Month of Thanksgiving

Part Three

This week, I want to continue to write about things that we can be grateful and thankful for within our lives.  I began in November writing a thematic series  about the changing seasons; including the Season of Thanksgiving that is upon us.

First, I wrote about being thankful for the Holy Word of God; the Bible.  In Part Two, I wrote about being thankful for daily necessities that we often time take for granted; such as water, and how it not only quenches our thirst but provides for a plethora of essentials within our lives.

This evening, I was pondering and meditating about the wonderful blessings of music and how it enriches our lives.  Actually, nearly all genres of music can be appealing, entertaining, uplifting, soothing, refreshing, and even encouraging to the body, soul, and mind.  (Notice…I said “nearly all; not all!)  There seems to be a genre of music to suit just about everyone’s fancy.

For example; take a Friday night high school football game.  Without the rousing, upbeat tempo of the marching band, some football games could become quite boring; especially if its your team that’s losing!  But, when the band strikes up…the fans often perk up!  Another example of the positive effects of music is regarding the elderly.  On many occasions, I have witnessed nursing home patients, while attending a gathering where music is being played, begin to tap their feet, nod their heads in rhythm, and even sway their hands back and forth in perfect count.  Often, if they know the words to a particular song, they will join in by humming or singing along.  Music just has a way of getting inside of our hearts and heads.

Personally, I so enjoy when I can hear a song being softly sung or gently playing  in the back recesses of my mind; even while the world rushes around me!!  There are times when I can be upset, moody, discouraged, fighting the “blues,”  going through a trial or storm, or even angry about something that I will suddenly become aware of a small voice singing a sweet, victorious song or hymn inside my head.  For instance, today, I have walked around nearly all day with the song, “I Am Redeemed,” playing over and over again in my head.  What a blessing to my soul!

Yet; not too surprising, I have been a little down this week over a few things.  Things that are not too overly serious or life-shattering; but things I can’t control (Or, actually would not want to control!).  Nevertheless, I am acutely aware of some trials and storms some people I know and dearly love are facing. So, I am rightfully concerned with a Christian love.  It makes me sad when I see my friends and family face trials and tribulations. I know God will deliver them, but I also know while the storms are brewing and raging…it can often times be a little (if not a lot!) frightening!  No one wakes up in the morning saying, “Oh boy, I hope I get to be in a storm today!” Well, no one in their right mind!  But, music (along with God’s Holy Word) can help us through some of the hardest times and trials in life!

So, as it goes, when I am concerned, perhaps even a little apprehensive about  the future, I can always trust a little song playing in the back of my thoughts reminding me of God’s ever powerful and merciful hand steering the Ship of Life….Hymns such as “Amazing Grace,”  “It is Well with My Soul,” and “Stand By Me.”  And, when I can slow down long enough to pay closer attention, I can even start humming along and sometimes even break-out in song!  Songs carry a tremendous power and strength with them.  Music can change our inward thoughts, attitude, and outlook in a snap!

A few minutes ago, I researched the word, “music” in one of my husband’s commentaries and discovered that music,  in one form or fashion, is used over 1100 times in the Bible.  For it to be referenced that many times, God must place a good bit of value on music!  Amen…

In the Old Testament, King Saul refers to being soothed by young David’s instrumental playing.  Amazing.  Music can have the same calming effect on me.  Often times, when I am alone or cleaning the house, I will play my soundscapes CD.  Oh, the relaxing orchestra music with sounds of the ocean in the background is so soothing!

Actually, one of my favorite things is to study my Bible while a CD plays softly.  Then, add the sweet aroma of pumpkin-spiced scented candles and “all is at peace!”  Mind you; this is NOT some sort of religious or yoga ritual…It just adds a calming, relaxing atmosphere while I study, pray, and mediate over God’s word….Or, type out my blog!!

Oh, the sweet joys of good, uplifting, inspirational and Spiritual music.  The Bible teaches us in Ephesians 5:19…Speak to one another with psalms, hymns and spiritual songs. Sing and make music in your heart to the Lord. (NIV).

“Sing praises to God, sing praises; sing praises unto our King, sing praises. For God is the King of all the earth; sing ye praises with understanding. (Psalm 47:6-7 KJV).

As most theologians agree, the Book of Psalm is a collection of Prayers set to music for both private and cooperate worship.  Today, let’s add “music” and “songs” to our list of things to be thankful.

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

