A Month of Thanksgiving

  

   A Month of Thanksgiving…

Who doesn’t love the month of November with all of its splendid fall colors, cooler temperatures, and precious family gatherings?  Not to mention…the tempting, tantalizing aromas coming from the kitchen where lovingly well-prepared feasts of pumpkin pies, pecan pies, sweet potato pies, corn-bread stuffing (I’m from the South!), mouth-watering vegetables, and golden-baked turkey await to wet our whistles!   Yummy!!   The month of November is definitely a Keeper!!

But, for many of us, November just doesn’t usher in a season of kaleidoscope Fall colors and cooler temperatures….It ushers in a time of reflective thanksgivings; a time to set back and count our blessings; one by one.  The harvest in is….and it’s time to Thank the One who has made it all possible…Our Creator, God.

Starting today and for the rest of the month, I will be writing about a plethora of things we can all be thankful.  The first thing that I want to be thankful for this morning is my Bible; the written Word of God.   There’s an old song that goes something like this, “In my hand I hold a treasure; oh it’s love is above all measure…” The title of the song is, “Daddy’s Bible.”  Oh, how I remember hearing this precious old song sung down through the years.  Many times, people throughout the church building would stand up holding their Bibles high into the air Praising God for His precious Word!   Ask ourselves this question…How many times do we take our precious life-sustaining Bibles for granted?  Sadly, more than we’d like to confess.   Today, let’s be thankful for our Bibles.

My Bible is the perfect book of genealogy, because I know where I am from….”In the beginning God created!” (Genesis 1:1).

  • My Bible is the perfect book of prophecies, because I know where I am going…Heaven, the eternal City of God (Revelation 22).  Through its pages, I know the ending from the beginning…The Alpha and Omega.  Amen.
  • My Bible is the perfect book of Love…”For God so Loved…” (John 3:16).
  • My Bible is the perfect book of redemption…”And, they led Him (Jesus) unto Golgotha, the place of the skull there to be crucified (Mark 15: 22-25) And, by his stripes we are healed…(.I Peter 2:24)
  • My Bible is the perfect book of assurance, because in it I find all the hope and faith I need to live each day….”For, we know that faith is the substance of things hoped for and the evidence of things not yet seen. ” (Hebrews 11:1.)

Oh, what a treasure…it’s price above all measure….The precious, anointed Word of God…In The beginning was the Word and the Word was with God and the Word was God! (John 1:1).  

This morning, I want to express my sincere thankfulness to God, my Creator, for the Holy Bible;  the inerrant, life-sustaining Word of God.  Amen.

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

