Your’s Forever

Your’s Forever… In this day and time, what woman or young lady doesn’t want to hear these precious, hope-filled words spoken from the lips of the one they love,  “Darling, I am Your’s Forever!” ??  Now, grant it, most men do not go around speaking in such Shakespearian lingo, but a simple, “Hon, I love you!” surely sounds like music to the ear!

One of the most powerfully romantic books written in the Bible can be found in the Book of Solomon, The Song of Songs.”  Oh, the expressed passion spoken between the two lovers; the bridegroom and his bride to be.  However, one quick read and you will soon discover that the words expressed in this marriage song between the two lovers are quite different in style and mannerisms!

There are actually three parts in the Song:  The words of the Beloved Bride.  The words of the Loving Bridegroom.  And, the words of the Friends in attendance.  It helps to have a Bible that labels or narrates the individual parts.

The Songs begins with the Beloved Bride telling the Bridegroom that his love is, “more delightful than wine…No wonder the maidens love you! Take me away with you!”  A few verses later, the Loving Bridegroom responds, “I liken you, my darling, to a MARE harnessed to one of the chariots of Pharaoh!”  I don’t know about you, but I’m not too sure that I’d like being compared to an old mare horse!  But, at least it was a horse worthy of the chariots of Pharaoh!

As the intoxicating love song continues, the Beloved Bride speaks words of desire and passion from her panting heart.  The Bridegroom returns words such as, “How beautiful you are, my darling! Oh, how beautiful!” (Chapter 4:1 NIV).  Yet; he goes on to say, “Your hair is like a flock of goats descending from Mount Gilead.”  I’m not sure about you, but at this point when my hair is being compared to a goat I might just say, “Hold up there boys…let me think this thing through!”

But, that’s just it!  The Beloved Bride is taken away by the skillfully descriptive words of the Bridegroom.  She adores her future husband and nothing he says diminishes the love that she holds for Him within her heart.  She also knows and is fully confident that his love for her is endless, and when he compares her hair to that of a goat’s… she is thrilled!   He could have easily spoken, “I am Your’s Forever!”

And, in this most symbolic poem, the Bridegroom is indeed the Bride’s forever.  Many Bible scholars agree that this is a book describing the eternal  love that Christ Jesus has for his future bride; the church.  And, the longing of the church for its eternal redeemer, Jesus Christ!  Oh, the majestic picture of the Marriage Supper of the Lamb! (Revelation 21).

I am somewhat reminded of one of my son-in-laws who is an avid hunter and sports fanatic.  I don’t know of too many women who gets all excited when their husband brings home a new pair of running shoes for her birthday! But, my daughter does!  She knows that her husband loves her and expresses his love to her in the best way he knows how….through sports and hunting!  Now, mind you I can hear a lot of men out there cheering!  But, what I am trying to say is that people express their love one to another in their own ways, styles, and mannerisms.  And, when we truly love that person…we accept the ways that person expresses his or her love to us!

Grant it, I’m not smart enough to figure out all the symbolic meanings behind the eight chapters in The Song of Songs.  I’ll leave that up to the seminary students and theologians!  But, I do know that the number “eight” in numerology means, “A New Beginning.”  And, the life of this Bride and Bridegroom is exactly that…a new beginning that will last forever and forever…Amen!

I do enjoy reading through the beautiful words spoken between the Bridegroom and the Bride and knowing that one day I, too, will be a “Your’s Forever” Bride at the Marriage Supper of the Lamb!  Oh, thanks be unto Jesus…our Redeemer!

Today, I am blessed to be living with my only husband of thirty-seven years.  Unlike the future “perfect” symbolic union between Christ and his church, we, as most couples do, have had our ups and downs along the way.  We still do!  But, I do know that many times earthly love and earthly marriages do break-up and the love that once was thriving and alive dies and often times fades away.  Sometimes, we also lose our loved one through the experience of physical death.  Oh, how sad.

I don’t know about you, but I long and desire to see and be a very real part of the Marriage Supper of the Lamb and experience the  Agape, non-failing, non-dying love found within the pages of The Book of Solomon….  “Many waters cannot quench love; rivers cannot wash it away: (Ch. 8:7)….Simply put…Your’s Forever!

Remember, God Loves You with an Undying, Agape Love!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

