Birthdays And Anniversaries

Birthdays and Anniversaries mark special days within our lives.  Special times when we reflect upon our past and times when we look towards our future with hope and promise.

Today, October 13, 2011, and this week, is a special time in my husband’s life.  Today, he turned sixty-years-old, and this week he celebrates thirty years in the ministry.  Two very special milestones in his life.

First, I thank God that he was born sixty years ago.  From the foundation of the Earth, God ordained him to be my husband; my provider, my friend, my protector, and the father of my children.  Even though I have not always behaved as if he was my best friend, he has always been my best friend; sticking right beside me through thick and thin; and believe me, as with most married couples, there has been a whole lot of thick and a whole lot of thin!

Over the years, I have watched him turn grey, gain weight around the mid-section, and face tornadic-like storms with an unwavering Faith in God…Putting it into his own philosophy of life and words, “It all comes out in the wash!” 

My husband is what I call a “black and white” person. He doesn’t take much time to wallow in the gray like I do.  He calls it like it is and makes his choices and decisions there upon.  At times, I wish I could be more like him; and at times, I wish he could be more like me in these matters!  But, as one close friend observed, “You two balance each other out well.”

What a nice compliment…”We balance each other out.”  I guess his being on one side of the spectrum and my being on the other side has provided a foundation of moderation that actually helped to balance out our family and our lives.  So, I’m thankful and grateful for my husband’s no-non-sense, call-it-what it-is, life-style of Hope and Faith….”Throw another bean in the pot!” as he would say. (Another one of his philosophical sayings! He has dozens!

My husband is very different from any other person or man in my life. My husband is a humble man; one that does not seek his own.  He’s unselfish and not self-centered at all.  He doesn’t brag on himself, his belongings, or his achievements in life.  He’s always looking out for my best interest and putting me first in most areas of his life.  (The one area I do not compete to be first is his relationship with God…God is and always will be number One in his life. And, I am blessed because of it.)

Like most young wives, it took time for me to actually see, realize, and appreciate these qualities.  But, when I did I realized how truly blessed I am. 

I look forward to celebrating more birthdays and anniversaries with my husband and family. With each passing year life grows fonder and the memories grow ever sweeter.  None of us is perfect and like the songs says, “God’s still working on me…to make me what He wants me to be.”

I wish my husband a Happy 60th Birthday and Happy 30th Anniversary in the ministry.  “You have been my friend, my provider, my protector, the father of our children, and even more special…my Pastor. How sweet is that…I will love you always.”

Thank you for stopping by and sharing with me this special day in my husband’s life.  Perhaps you can join me in giving thanks to God for those who are special in your life as well. 

“But speak thou the things which become sound doctrine…That they may teach the young women to be sober, to love their husbands, to love their children…” (Titus 2:4 KJV).

Remember God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

