Courageous…The Movie

Courageous!  First, I want to Congratulate the Kendrick Brothers and Sherwood Baptist Church in Albany, Georgia for their ongoing Courage, Faith, Determination, and Hard Work for tapping into a media source that most average Christians would never attempt.  That in itself takes courage and much Faith. 

Their highly acclaimed films, Flywheel, Facing the Giants, Fireproof, and Courageous are among the top most popular movies of our time.  And, each one carries the common thread of hope by pointing viewers to none other than our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ.  Hallelujah! Amen!

And, it is working! My husband has always said that if the Apostle Paul would have had the internet in his days as a resource to get out the Gospel, he would have been the first in line to use it.  Hats Off to those who have used secular media as a means to spread the Love of God and the plan of Salvation provided through His Son, Jesus Christ.  (John 3:16).

Even when the Apostle Paul was a prisoner in the Roman jail system awaiting execution, He asked young Timothy, his student in the faith, to bring him paper and pen to write.  Paul used his last days on Earth to pen down his final message of hope and inspiration to both fellow and future Believers in Christ Jesus:

7I have fought a good fight, I have finished my course, I have kept the faith:

 8Henceforth there is laid up for me a crown of righteousness, which the Lord, the righteous judge, shall give me at that day: and not to me only, but unto all them also that love his appearing.  (II Timothy 4:7)

I believe the Kendrick Brothers and Sherwood Baptist church are “fighting a good fight;” will hopefully continue to finish their course by providing more and more movies based upon Scripture and Christian principles, and I pray they will continue in their Faith. 

Many years ago, when God placed it upon my heart to write and publish my first Christian-based romance novel, “Break Away,” I was somewhat concerned how those who have known me the longest would react.  After all, I had the position of being a Pastor’s wife in a rather Conservative environment.

Yet, here I was writing and publishing a romance novel that dealt with real life issues faced by seemingly real life-like characters.  I wasn’t too sure how it would be accepted or if the Deacon Board at my husband’s church might not ask for his immediate resignation!

But, I was greatly humbled and honored when the ladies of our church started bringing their copies of the book to church for me to autograph! How rewarding and uplifting.

The entire plot for the book,“Break Away” rests upon the Unseen Hand of God as He moves in and out of the characters’ lives as they trust Him for His guidance.  The fictional characters are not portrayed as being perfect nor do they always make the right choices and decisions.  Yet, they continue steadfast in their Faith that God is in control; even when they were not!

I believe that the world needs to hear the good news of the Gospel no matter what media resource we choose:  TV, radio, movies, books, and internet.  I’m thankful that I can sit down each morning and type out an inspirational blog that I hope can encourage Believers as well as point the way to Salvation for those who take the time to “click” by.

Each morning, I pray that my blogs will uplift the name of Christ and plant seeds of Faith into the hearts of those who may not have as of yet accepted Him as their personal Savior.

Christians, we have a wealth of resources to use as a means to spread our Testimonies of the Love of God.  Let’s be creative; look around…Search out areas in our own lives that can be used as venues for spreading the Faith!  Let’s Be Courageous!

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

