God Throws Away the Labels!

Aren’t you glad that God Throws Away the Labels?  This morning, as I was changing some bed linens, I happened to notice one of those pesky labels still hanging down from one of the corners of the sheet I was placing on the bed.  Immediately, I went to find my scissors to cut it off.

After I have purchased an item, and know that I am “satisfied” with it, I typically get out my scissors and cut the various tags and labels hanging down from the corners and other places.  This way when my sweet husband hangs the towel inside-out after he showers, the label won’t be showing.

Don’t worry ladies, I am very proud that he NOW hangs up his own towel and wash-cloth.  I’m really not complaining…But, this was not always the case. His precious, doting, southern-style mother had “taught” him to leave his towel and wash-cloth on the side of the tub and she would hang it back up correctly.  Naturally, when we first got married, he mistakenly thought that I would render this most kind and dedicated service. But, being the terrific teacher that I am (LOL!), I demonstrated, several, several times, how he could hold the towel or wash-cloth corner to corner and fold it properly and even hang it up on the towel rack himself! 

After a while, he actually achieved this very simple task and felt very proud of himself for it.  He even once told his younger, married brother that he had learned to do a lot of “women” chores around the house! smile…(Note: My husband was pretty much a “Leave It to Beaver” type guy whose mother never public worked and performed “all” of the household chores for her two sons; even though she taught and expected her daughters to perform these same tasks! It’s a “southern” thing you know! smile…)

Back to today’s blog!  From time to time, I will find where I have missed a tag or label from a towel, hand-cloth, pillow case, or sheet; as I did this morning.  So, off to get the scissors.  As I was returning to the bedroom with the scissors in hand, I heard a gentle voice speak within my heart, “Aren’t you glad that I threw away all of your labels?”  Wow!  What a thought; what a concept!

See, typically, people leave on tags or labels after they have purchased an item just in case they wish to return it in the future, or they need to be reminded how to care for the item. 

What God was telling me is that after He “purchases” a sinner, like he did me, it is NEVER his intentions of returning them! For you are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s. (I Corinthians 6:20 KJV).  And, God never has to be reminded how to take care of us…He already knows our every need and how to meet those needs.  But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus. *Philippians 4:19 KJV)

Typically, product labels tell the buyer what the item is made of and how to care for it.  God already knows “what we are made of,” and “how to take care of us.”  But, have you ever wondered what it might look like if we did come with a label?  What if our label(s) read something like this:  Machine Wash Luke Warm, 50%Lies and 50%Cheats, Remove from Dryer Immediately and Touch up with Hot Iron!!!!  Ouch!!!

Thanks be unto God for His Love, Mercy, and Grace.  He throws away our “old labels” and allows us to all become “100% Pure White Wool Washed in the Blood of Christ.”  How truly wonderful!  We are no longer “garments of scarlet sin,” but washed white as snow in the blood of Jesus.        

Though your sins are like scarlet,
                                 They shall be as white as snow;
                               Though they are red like crimson,
                            They shall be as wool.  (Isaiah 1:18 KJV).

Aren’t you glad today that God has his own labeling service?  And, as believers in Christ Jesus, we are all labeled, “Blood-Bought and Blood-Washed Through Jesus.” 

Even though I have to be “spot-cleaned” from time to time through God’s Holy Scriptures and fervent prayer, I never have to be completely “rewashed” again!  God has thrown away my “old” labels!  He never intends on returning me back to Satan from whom He purchased me; with His own life. 

Oh, the sweet rewards of being purchased by God through Jesus Christ…Our old labels have been tossed into the Sea of Forgetfulness; as far as the East is from the West.  Today, I am a new creature (made out of a new garment) in Jesus Christ; one that won’t ever be returned by my purchaser!  Amen…

Remember, God Loves You!

Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

