The Transformed House

The Transformed House…Ten years ago, my husband and I moved into a new home.  We were blessed to have owned our first home for over twenty-five years.  In our new neighborhood stood a home that I didn’t feel was particularly attractive; not very appealing to me. Actually, I thought it was the least appealing home on the street.

For several years the home was occupied by a family that took good care of it, but the house still looked as if it was missing something.  It was just too bland and plain I thought. 

A little over a year ago, the family moved out leaving the house to stand empty.  Eventually, a For Sale sign was placed in front of the home.  Week after week people would visit the house; but no buyer.  Everyone in the neighborhood was glad that the realtor company kept the lawn mowed the entire year it stood empty.

Then, this past month a young couple with children moved into the home.  One afternoon, as I was turning into my driveway I noticed a truck backed up to the garage unloading furniture.  I couldn’t help but think what a good deal they probably got on the home due to the current economic market.  Sadly, I didn’t have too much time to “stare” (LOL!), so I drove my car into the garage and closed the garage door behind me. 

The next morning, as I was opening the blinds in my bathroom, I noticed a lovely potted plant sitting on the porch just slightly to the right of the front door.  To me, it was just the right plant for the entrance. I also noticed two cars parked in the driveway.  As I was about to turn and walk away, I noticed something else…the entire house suddenly had a very attractive appearance to it.  I thought to myself, “Um, that’s odd.”  So, I looked closer to see if there might be anything else added to the home that would make such a change.  There was nothing; just the one potted plant.  The exterior paint was still the same color.  The front door was the same.  The shutters were still the same color.  The yard and shrubbery were all the same.  Puzzling.

Then, I met the family.  They were Christians and were so excited about their first new home.  Their sweet demeanor and joy was just too much to contain.  As I was walking away from the home, it suddenly dawn on me what had transformed the house!  The house was being transformed from the INSIDE out!  Amazing.

A house that had stood for ten years as a plain, unassuming house had suddenly, practically overnight, been transformed into a lovely appealing home due to the family that was living inside.  Even though nothing physically had been changed on the outside of the house, the very fact that the new family living inside was so filled with the Lord it somehow seemed to radiate to the outward appearance of the house.

God then reminded me this is exactly what He does to a person when he moves in and resides within “their” house (our bodies).  He changes us from the inside to the outside!  A person who was once unattractive in their ways and mannerisms suddenly becomes warm and friendly and appealing in their new Christ-like ways; someone others wish to relate and to be around.  This is not uncommon…The Bible teaches us, Therefore if any man be in Christ, he is a new creature: old things are passed away; behold, all things are become new (II Corinthians 5:17).

I believe if God can transform a plain, unappealing house into one of beauty by just allowing a spirit-filled family to move inside…Oh, how he can also transform you and me into a work of beauty as well!  Isaiah 61:3 reads, “…to give unto them beauty for ashes, the oil of joy for mourning, the garment of praise for the spirit of heaviness; that they might be called trees of righteousness, the planting of the LORD, that he might be glorified.”

God wants to transform you and me from the ashes of our past to the beauty of the Heavenly Father and anoint us with the Oil of Joy…Amen.  Oh that we would only let Him move inside and change us from the inside to the outside…just as this family moving inside of the house changed its overall appearance…God can and will do the same for our lives; if we only let Him.

Today, you may be feeling bland, plain, unattractive, and unappealing due to the inward spirit that haunts your life with heaviness.  You may have things in your life that are keeping you in bondage and from receiving the Oil of Joy.  Oh, my dear friend, call upon the name of the Lord before it is too late and allow Him to move in and reside within your life.  When you do, it won’t be no time until you will feel the Oil of Joy on the inside and others will see the ashes of your life turned into beauty and Praise for the Father.  Oh, won’t you let him come in and reside in your heart?

If you want to ask Jesus to come into your heart and give you a new meaningful and purposeful life, you can do just that.  I encourage you to read and study the Scriptures starting in the Book of Romans found in the New Testament of the Bible.  Romans Chapter Ten is a good chapter to read when you are seeking Salvation (allowing Christ to Save you from sin and move inside (take up residency) in your heart.  Then, I encourage you to seek out a friend, neighbor, relative, or Pastor who already knows Jesus as their personal Savior.  Share with them your desire to be saved.  Confess with your “tongue” that you are a sinner in need of Jesus Christ in your life, and you desire Him to come into your heart and life.   

Then, I strongly encourage you to start out your new life in Christ by joining a local church where the Word of God is preached and taught.  This will help you to grow in Christ and develop fellowship with other believers.  Just as a new babe desires and needs others to help in their lives; as a newly born-again, follower of Christ, you, too, will thrive and grow more strongly in the Word when aided by more mature, spirit-filled Christians as well. 

Oh, my friend, please do not hesitate.  Call on the Lord today…Allow Jesus to move in and transform your house.  Amen.

Remember, God Loves You…

Lin T Rollins, Author

Leave a Reply

