The Joys of Bible Study

The Joys of Bible Study… If you have ever participated in a vibrant, spirit-filled Bible study, you know first-hand what I mean when I say that the joyous experiences can last a life-time.

Currently, I have joined a new weekly ladies Bible study at our church.  We are studying Beth Moore’s “Breaking Free” series.  After only three weeks, I can already tell that God is going to show-up and show-out!  Don’t you just love it when God shows-up, and especially when He shows-out by doing all kinds of amazing things in people’s lives!  I know I do.

I can still vividly recall attending my first ladies Bible study back in 1979.  The title was, “What Happens When Women Pray,” written by Evelyn Christenson. To this day, when the ladies who participated in that particular study see one another, we still shake our head and rejoice over the numerous prayers that were answered and the wonderful things God did in our lives.  Souls were saved; lives were restored; and shortly after the study my husband announced his call into the ministry.  W0w! I was glad that I had attended that particular study on “prayer,” because I was surely going to need it!

The greatest thing about Bible study is getting to search through the Scriptures and learn more about God and His plans and desires for our individual lives.  Even though a group of ladies might be reading and studying the same lesson and scriptures, the Holy Spirit targets in on each person’s individual needs and place in life.

In a Bible study, there are typically women of all ages in attendance.  Some are young wives; some are young mothers; some are middle-aged wives and grandmothers; and some are even reaching their senior years and having the joys of being great-grandmothers.  Each precious lady bringing their own personal experiences, personalities, and needs to the meetings.  Each lady having the opportunity to learn more about one another and how to effectively pray for one another.

Yes; one can find powerful results in learning how to fervently and effectively pray.  And, I believe there is no better way to learn how to pray than to read and study the Scriptures (“Study to shew thyself approved unto God, a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the word of truth.” II Timothy 2:15). It is by reading and studying the scriptures that we learn how to pray and how to find Hope, Assurance, and even more Faith knowing that God hears and answers prayers according to His Soverign will and promises.

I am always amazed at different people’s testimonies and the trials they have faced.  Someone that you only saw on occasion or barely knew suddenly touches your life and heart when you hear of a devastating trial they have faced and endured.  Testimonies of hope and faith; all giving honor, glory, and praise unto God for His ever-sufficient mercies, grace, and Love.  We really do serve a Great God!

I am looking forward to seeing the end results of our Bible study.  I am looking forward to making new acquaintances and friends who all share a common hope and faith in Jesus Christ.

Today, you might need a good cooperate Bible study in your own life.  I know there are times when we can study the Scriptures on our own, but there’s just something extra-special when we share in God’s experiences and study together…”For where two or three are gathered in my name; so shall I be in the midst.” (Matthew 18:2 KJV).  It’s also nice to feel a part of a group and a sense of belonging.  I encourage you to get involved in a good Bible study.  You will never regret it, and the joys are innumerable!

Perhaps, you feel lead to start a Bible study in your home, church, or community.  Don’t hesitate; there are tons of good literature out there to help prepare you along the way.  God has supplied us with very good published authors and teachers such as Beth Moore, Evelyn Christenson, Kay Author, Dr. Dorothy Patterson, and many others whose hard work and hours of dedication to God’s word can help to enlighten and encourage our walk in Faith with the Lord.

Oh, the Joys of Bible Study…It’s like a breath of fresh air to our hearts, minds, and spirit. I have had the pleasure on several occasions to not only facilitate a Bible study but to teach and write lessons as well.  I consider these times some of the most precious in my life.  At all three of my husband’s former churches where he served as Pastor, God allowed me the joyous opportunities to lead and teach the Scriptures through regular Bible studies; including hosting a yearly ladies’ conference.  Attending ladies conferences and Bible studies with others tends to form a bond of fellowship and lasting friendships that are not easily broken.  I know…I still hold very dear in my heart my first prayer partners from over thirty years ago.

I have seen first-hand what God can do in the lives of those who dedicate themselves to fervent, effective Bible study.  The Bible is an ever-thriving, alive, life-changing resource that has been given to us by God.  With that in mind, wouldn’t it make sense for us to read it, know it, and learn it even more and more with each passing day?!!

Oh, The Joys of Bible Study….They are so, so many….

Well, for now I need to close…I want to complete today’s Bible lesson and see what God has in store for me!

Remember, God’s Loves You!

Lin T. Rollins, Author

One thought on “The Joys of Bible Study

  1. Thank you Linda!!! I really enjoyed devotion today!!! God’s Word is so powerful and what a privilege it is to learn about Him daily! His Word is active and living! I love 2 Timothy 2:15… it’s my life verse for bible study! You are such an encouragement to me and I’m looking forward to what God is going to do in our study! God bless you sweet friend!

Leave a Reply

