Spiritual Disturbances

Spiritual Disturbances.  This morning while reflecting upon a matter, a new concept entered into my mind.  I honestly don’t think I have ever applied this term to any given situation in my life.  Suddenly, within my thoughts, I heard the words, “Spiritual Disturbances.” How strange; I thought.  So, as accustomed, I began to research exactly what it meant.

I was somewhat in awe when I ran across the phrase, “Spirit of Disturbance.”  I decided to dig deeper.  There it was…”A spirit of disturbance”…meaning a troubled heart or a disturbed heart.  The article went on to say, “Stress is a disturbance of the heart.”

Wow!  I don’t know about you, but it seems to me that everywhere we turn, we are bombarded by the word, “stress.” We are constantly being told that “stress” is killing us and robbing us of our daily peace of mind… If stress is actually a disturbance of the heart…then our nation, our churches, our families, our homes, and our personal lives are filled with disturbances.  No wonder the pharmaceutical industry is making a fortune off meds to help reduce, “disturbances of the heart.”  But, meds can’t and won’t cure a disturbance of the heart…that is a Spiritual issues…and only God can heal Spiritual matters of the heart.  Only a totally-sold-out life to Christ Jesus can cure Disturbances of the Heart.

So, it nearly goes without saying that “A spirit of disturbance,” a troubled heart, a stressed-filled life…is by far a spiritual matter rather than a political or circumstantial matter.  It isn’t our physical circumstances that brings “stress” into our lives, but rather our diminished-measure of faith in our personal relationship and daily walk with God.  And, since our society has been taught for several generations that “man” can “fix” his own problems through education, government, philosophies, or personal acquired skills rather than dependence upon God…we have created an environment of  “perplexities” on every side…In other words…We are being lead by a spirit of disturbance.  But, the Bible clearly teaches us to live soberly and righteously…discerning and trying the Spirits…whether they be of God or not…

Since our nation and media resources have tried so desperately to move God out of our lives, we are now a people wide open to Satan’s attacks to rob and to steal from us our joy, happiness, and assurances in God that “All” things happen according to His purpose for our lives (good and bad).  “And we know that ALL things work Together for good to them who are the called according to His purpose.” (Romans 8:28 KJV)

I don’t know about you, but this concept of Spiritual Disturbances struck a chord with me.  I’m tired of being “spiritually disturbed.” I’m tired of Satan robbing me of my peace of mind and joys of life.  I’m tired of being concerned about the future of our nation, the future of our lives, and our futures in general.  The Bible clearly teaches that a man cannot add one cubit to his height.  Over three hundred times, it is written in the Word of God, “Fret not,” and “Fear not.”  God does not reside in us through a spirit of fear.  We are more than conquerors through Christ Jesus!  Shout for glory!

Yet, the Bible also teaches that “man everywhere should pray.”  Pray for what?  How about praying to overcome the Spirit of Disturbances within our lives!  How about praying for Greater amounts of Faith and added faith each day!  How about praying that our hearts and minds won’t be caught off guard when Satan bombards our thoughts with doubts and fears?  How about praying for the faith to know that we are “more than conquerors through him (God) that loved us?” (Romans 8:37).

The Apostle Paul wasn’t possessed with a spirit of disturbance.  Rather, he wrote, “For I am PERSUADED that neither death, nor life (did you see that…LIFE!), nor angels, nor principalities (leaders and governments), nor powers (man’s militaries), nor things present (today), nor things to come (the future!), nor height, nor depth (the valleys of life), nor any other creature (that old serpent the Devil!) shall be able to separate us (you and me!) from the LOVE of GOD, which is in CHRIST JESUS our LORD!”  (Romans 8:38-39 KJV)…Now, there’s an example of a heart that is NOT filled with disturbances.

I don’t know about you….But, Oh, how I try to “fix” things in my life…Oh, how I let Satan bombard my thoughts and mind with His tactics to rob me of the peace and joys found in Christ Jesus.

As I mentioned at the beginning of this blog, I have really never thought about the concept of Spiritual Disturbances before.  As most of us, I usually “blame” aggravating things on circumstances rather than placing the blame on the one who has made it his speciality in life to rob and to steal…”The thief (Satan) cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I (Jesus) am come that they (you and I) might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” (John 10:10 KJV).

Did you see that?  Satan wants to “kill” us…He wants to “destroy” us…And, every physician in the land will tell you that “stress” kills and destroys.  Satan is using “spiritual disturbances” to defeat our lives…It’s time we take a stand against this attack.

Today, let us stand boldly in Faith against the wiles of Satan and denounce a Spirit of Disturbance that is trying to destroy our homes, our jobs, our churches, our families, and our lives.  Rather, let’s pray for the Spirit of Peace that passes all understandings and grants us life…and life more abundantly.  Oh, the joys of the Lord…Amen.

Prayer:  “Lord Jesus, I come unto you this morning thanking you for the gift of life and for the breath of life. I ask you today, in thy sweet and precious name, to remove any and all spirits of disturbances that are at work in my life to rob and to destroy my life.  I not only pray for me, but for all those who are also being bombarded with spiritual disturbances in their lives as well.  I pray for Faith, greater Faith, abundant Faith, to overcome any and all attacks upon my life and those of my family.  Grant this prayer request Father in the name of they precious Son, Jesus Christ. Amen.”

I hope today’s blog will be a source of encouragement to you.

Remember God Loves You…Stand Strong in the Lord.

Lin T. Rollins, Author

One thought on “Spiritual Disturbances

  1. thanks for this great revelation. there many circumstances that i experiencing this disturbances in heart that troubles me. I find out that i just need more to soak in the Lord so that my heart become more strong in the Lord. I feel disturbed at some point when lies enter into my thought. we need to have fully armed, guarding our heart with the SWORD of GOD

Leave a Reply

